Skip to main content

Artists' Book Collection - ACA Library at SCAD Atlanta: Articles and Online Resources

This guide will help you use library tools to find information and inspiration for your research on artists' books.

Databases for Book Arts Articles

These databases are accessible to all SCAD students. Begin by logging into MySCAD and then find the 'Article and Image Databases' tab on the library's homepage.

  • Art Source- Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
  • BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art
    Index of articles and other literature on European and American art from late antiquity to 2007.
  • JSTOR
    Articles from scholarly journals covering all subjects in scanned, PDF format. Generally, the most recent two to five years are not available.

Artist's Book Journals

The Bonefolder contains peer-reviewed scholarly articles relating to book arts.  Issues from 2004-2014 are available to download as PDF files.

Journal of Artists' Books (JAB) reviews artists' books and exhibitions, and is a source of critical commentary on contemporay books arts. Brad Freeman, formerly of Atlanta's Nexua Press, publishes JAB in affiliation with Columbia College's Center for Book and Paper Arts in Chicago.  

Umbrella is a quarterly that covers artists' books as well as multiples and new media.

Artist's Book Journals in Print only

Guild of Bookworkers Journal - SCAD Atlanta recently acquired a run of this book arts journal. See volumes available here .

Bailliwik - Bailliwik is an artists' cooperative and a self-published periodical. See volumes available here.

Artist's Book Presses represented in the ACA Library Artist's Book Collection

Blue Heron Press/ Karen Kunc

Cabbagehead Press/ John Risseeuw

Circle Press/ Sam Winston, Ron King, Karen Bleitz

Coracle Press/ Simon Cutts

Flying Fish Press/ Julie Chen

In Cahoots Press/ Macy Chadwick

Indulgence Press/ Chip Schilling

Janus Press/ Claire Van Vliet

Mystical Places Press/ Jill Timm

Naughty Dog Press/ Emily Martin

Never Mind the Press/ Alisa Golden

Nexus Press

Ninja Press/ Carolee Campbell

Paradise Press/ Susan King

Pear Whistle Press/ Werner Pfeiffer

Perishable Press/ Walter Hamady

Popular Kinetics Press/ Carol Barton

Press 63+/ Ruth Laxson

Purgatory Pie Press/ Dikko Faust & Esther Smith

Scripp's College Press

Triangular Press/ Barbara Tetenbaum

 

image

Students and visitors enjoying acess to artists' books at an annual Artist's Book Symposium.