Last Updated: May 13, 2013
This guide provides research help for
For additional research information try these guides:
ARTstor is a digital library of over one million high resolution images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and the social sciences.
- Digital Image Database
A collection of digital images maintained by the Visual Resources Center at SCAD.
A fashion wiki created by the publishers of Vogue Magazine which includes information about designers, photographers, models and brands.
- The Costume Institute
An online database showcasing the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, which features more than thirty-five thousand costumes and accessories from the fifteenth century to the present.
- Victoria & Albert Museum - Fashion
The Victoria and Albert Museum in London is the world's largest museum of decorative arts and design. Their website features images and articles on contemporary and historical fashion exhibitions and events.
- Mint Museum - Fashion
A rich resource within the Museum’s holdings that totals over 10,000 items and spans over three centuries of fashion history.
- Europeana Fashion
Europeana Fashion provides online access to outstanding fashion content from Europe’s leading museums and private fashion archives.
Covers the development of western fashion and costume history from the 1800s to the present, including the influence of social trends and technology.
- The Fashion Plate Collection
"Fashion plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century." One of the University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections.
- Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty Exhibitition
"The exhibition (at the Metropolitan Museum of Art), organized by The Costume Institute, celebrated the late Alexander McQueen’s extraordinary contributions to fashion."
- Schiaparelli and Prada: Impossible Conversations Exhibition
"The Met's Spring 2012 Costume Institute exhibition, [exploring] the striking affinities between Elsa Schiaparelli and Miuccia Prada, two Italian designers from different eras."
- The Nifty Fifties
An image blog of fifties fashion.
- The Swinging Sixties
An image blog of sixties fashion.
- Super Seventies
An image blog of seventies fashion. Check the archive for additional images.
Click Ask A Librarian at http://library.scad.edu for research assistance online and in Savannah, Atlanta and Hong Kong