This guide will help you use library tools to find information and inspiration for your research on artists' books.
Photo: Divide and Conquer by Maureen Cummins, Rosendale, N.Y. : Women's Studio Workshop, 2007
Artists' books encompass a wide range of processes and materials and can be hard to define. Most simply, artists' books are works of art that are in book form or inspired by the book. Artists' books may or may not have text; some artists' books have images, but not all do. As a fine art, artists' books are the vision and creation of an artist. There are exceptions to most limitations one could apply to the medium. Most importantly, artists' books are interactive; they are intended to be read and handled by an individual. That makes them unique among many other fine arts in collections, which viewers are prohibited from touching. A core motivation of artists who turned to book making in the 1960s was to remove their work from the restrictive and elitist environments of museums and galleries. They wanted to make art more accessible and democratic by producing multiples and expanding the reach of their artwork to untapped audiences.
SCAD Libraries in Atlanta have a collection of over 2,300 artists' books. SCAD's collection contains unique works by individual artists as well as small editions and items from fine arts presses. The collection is unusual in its variety; it includes works from more than 1,000 artists and has a deep holding of books ranging from the 1960s through contemporary works. Of particular note is a large collection of Nexus Press books produced right here in Atlanta from 1978-2003.
SCAD's philosophy is that the Artists' Book Collection is a teaching collection. The library offers class visits, workshops, and individual appointments to see the collection. Students, faculty, and the public can make appointments to visit the collection, gain inspiration for their own creative projects, and engage in hands-on object-based research utilizing the unique collections. Schedule a tour of the Artists' Book Collection for your class, group, or self by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
SCAD Libraries - Atlanta, 1600 Peachtree St. NW, Atlanta, GA 30309, Room 444, 4th floor
By Appointment Monday - Friday
Email email@example.com to schedule an appointment.
Use the links below to browse the artists' book collection: