Skip to main content

Artists' Book Collection - SCAD Libraries - Atlanta: Artists' Book Collection

This guide will help you use library tools to find information and inspiration for your research on artists' books.

Finding Artists' Books in the SCAD Libraries - Atlanta

Artists' books in the SCAD Libraries - Atlanta are kept in Special Collections and may be handled in the Artists' Book Display Room only. If you are looking for a specific artist, structure, or technique, you can search the Classic Catalog using advanced search and limiting the location to SCAD Libraries - Atlanta.

 

How do I see artists' books from Special Collections?

 

  • Make an appointment with the Special Collections Librarian at least a day ahead of when you'd like to visit. It is helpful to share any details about your project, or if there's anything particular you'd like to see, either by artist, title, type of structure or technique, or subject matter.
  • Schedule a class visit. Email the Special Collections Librarian to set up a field trip to see artists' books in the library. Whether you are Motion Media, Foundations, Photography, Illustration, Fashion, Business or anything in between, we have inspiration for your next assignment.
  • Check the cube at the entrance to the library for rotating artists' publications. These are also featured on the library Instagram.
  • View the exhibition space across from the New Book Display where artists' books from Special Collections are regularly displayed.

Questions? Email sc_atl@scad.edu

Artists' Book Structures

Artists' books utilize a wide range of structures from the traditional codex to unbound pages, accordion folds to flag books. Below are a handful of examples of some of the more common structures found in the collection.

Variety of Materials

Book artists use many different materials to make their work beyond the categories listed above, including glass, organic matter such as hair and tea bags, and even bubble wrap. Often, the material of the book reflects its content.