Research Guides: Introduction to the Research Process: Find Information

Find In-Depth Information

Use a wide range of sources - images, books, articles, and more - to support your research.

Search Strategies

Boolean Operators are words and symbols that group keywords in specific ways.

Group keywords together with quotation marks to search as an exact phrase. Example: “alfred hitchcock”

Use AND to combine several keywords or phrases. Example: “opening credits” AND typography

Use OR to search for information about one term, and also articles about another term. Example: film OR cinema

Use the asterisk * if you want to search multiple iterations of a keyword. Example: sequenc* = sequence, sequences, sequencing

eBooks

Some eBooks may be accessed by searching the library catalog.

Need more eBooks? Search eBook databases, listed below.

eBook Databases - List
All SCAD Library eBook databases are listed here.

Articles

There are dozens of article databases to choose from at SCAD Libraries. Select a database that covers your topic and has the kind of information you need (scholarly information, news, etc.)

Browse all databases by subject or by database title.

Or try one of these popular databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers from a wide variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and much more.
Academic Search Premier contains over 4,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers. This multidisciplinary research database covers a variety of disciplines, including engineering, physics, psychology, religion, philosophy, science and technology, education, humanities, civics, and history as well as the physical sciences. This database provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, videos from the Associated Press, and primary source documents pertaining to government and law. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly full-text publication with unbiased reports on current controversial or noteworthy political and social issues and topics.
CQ Researcher includes weekly reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy with statistics, pro/con positions, references, and bibliographies. For more information on using CQ Researcher, see this overview.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database of full-text articles and abstracts across many disciplines, combining contents from other full-text EBSCO databases.
For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Google Scholar

Configure Google Scholar to access full text articles via the SCAD Libraries' subscription databases. Find set-up instructions here.

Images

High-quality images add interest to papers and presentations. They are essential for art research. Use the resources below to find images:

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Image repository of more than 2.5 million digital images with corresponding catalog information.
Artstor sources content from museums, archives, and libraries across the world for educational and research purposes. Beyond fine art and art history images, Artstor includes fashion, decorative arts, architecture, and photography. SCAD Libraries subscription allows for free use of images in presentations, assignments, and other non-commercial educational activities. For information on accessing and searching Artstor, visit: Artstor Quick-Start Guide.
Digital Image Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of digital images maintained by the Visual Resources Center at SCAD.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.