Research Guides: Graduate Students Resources &amp; Services: Library Resources

Collection Highlights

This page lists just a sampling of SCAD Libraries' extensive resources. To search the full collection, visit http://library.scad.edu.

The SCAD Libraries' collection includes:

books
periodicals
videos
research and image databases
ebooks
archives
rare books
artists' books
student theses

Find Books

Search our Classic Catalog for books, ebooks, videos, and more:

Tips:

Check the location, availability and call number before heading to the shelves.
Books are organized by subject, so take time to browse the shelves.
Not sure how to read a call number? Learn how.
Request books from other SCAD locations. Learn how.

Find Ebooks

Over 100,000 ebooks in the SCAD Libraries collection can be accessed by searching our online catalogs. Learn more and begin your search using the links below:

Library Databases

Get 24/7 access to journal, magazine, and newspaper articles via library databases. Select from popular databases listed below or see our A-Z Databases list to access the full collection. (For off-campus access, log in with last name and SCAD ID number.)

Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers from a wide variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and much more.
Academic Search Premier contains over 4,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers. This multidisciplinary research database covers a variety of disciplines, including engineering, physics, psychology, religion, philosophy, science and technology, education, humanities, civics, and history as well as the physical sciences. This database provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, videos from the Associated Press, and primary source documents pertaining to government and law. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window EBSCO database of full-text articles and abstracts across many disciplines, combining contents from other full-text EBSCO databases.
For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Find Theses

SCAD Graduate Theses - Browse by Major
Print and electronic theses, grouped by major - all years

Graduate Thesis Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Access digital-only theses - covers Fall 2010 to present
For help with the SCAD Graduate Thesis Digital Collection, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

PQDT Open
Open access graduate theses and dissertations from other institutions

Find Images

Locate high quality images in the SCAD Libraries collection and beyond. Learn more.

Artstor This link opens in a new window Image repository of more than 2.5 million digital images with corresponding catalog information.
Artstor sources content from museums, archives, and libraries across the world for educational and research purposes. Beyond fine art and art history images, Artstor includes fashion, decorative arts, architecture, and photography. SCAD Libraries subscription allows for free use of images in presentations, assignments, and other non-commercial educational activities. For information on accessing and searching Artstor, visit: Artstor Quick-Start Guide.
Digital Image Database This link opens in a new window Image database maintained by the SCAD Visual Resources Center. DID contains a custom array of digitized images for the SCAD community.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Special Collections and Digitized Collections

Image from the Don Bluth Collection of Animation

The Libraries' Special Collections house artists' books, rare books and manuscripts, original art works, local history collections, select periodicals, and more. See hours and locations or access select digital materials using the links below.

SCAD Artist Book Collection This link opens in a new window Over 2,100 artists' books by artists active from the 1960s through the contemporary era
For more information about SCAD special collections databases, visit the SCAD Special Collections Guide.
Images from Life This link opens in a new window Ads, cartoons, and cover art from the first Life Magazine, published between 1883 and 1936. Many important cartoonists and illustrators got their start selling work to Life.
Life magazine during the coverage period of this database addressed issues of politics, fashion, society, religion, and literature. Many famous illustrators and authors were contributors to Life, such as Charles Dana Gibson, Norman Rockwell, and Theodor Seuss Geisel. For more information about SCAD special collections databases, visit the SCAD Special Collections Guide.

Graduate Students Resources & Services

Suggest a Purchase!