Research Guides: Atlanta: Find Articles

Types of Periodicals

In general, there are three types of periodicals: popular magazines, trade or professional sources and scholarly or peer-reviewed journals. The type of periodical you use will depend on the type of information you need. The following chart lists the typical characteristics that differentiate these three kinds of periodicals.

	Popular	Trade/ Professional	Scholarly/ Peer-reviewed
Examples	Sports Illustrated People Vanity Fair	Advertising Age Women's Wear Daily Variety	Animation Journal American Art Journal Burlington
Publisher	commercial firm	commercial firm or association	university or academic association
Audience	general readers	persons employed in the targeted industry	academics and researchers
Style	colorful, illustrated	colorful, illustrated	plain, mostly text
Articles	short, non-technical	short, technical	long, charts and tables, bibliographies
Writing	informal, journalistic	informal, journalistic	formal and/or scientific
Authors	staff writers	staff writers and practitioners	academics and researchers
Advertising	business or consumer products	specialized trade/ professional products and services	books, if any

Find Scholarly Articles at SCAD

Use these databases to find scholarly articles about Atlanta.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers from a wide variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and much more.
Academic Search Premier contains over 4,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers. This multidisciplinary research database covers a variety of disciplines, including engineering, physics, psychology, religion, philosophy, science and technology, education, humanities, civics, and history as well as the physical sciences. This database provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, videos from the Associated Press, and primary source documents pertaining to government and law. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Digital Library of Georgia This link opens in a new window
Digital library containing print, audio, and visual resources pertaining to Georgia history, culture, and life.
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture. The library presents books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other unique documents online. For more information about the Digital Library of Georgia, visit their website.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database covering the entirety of television and film history and subjects with full-text articles, images, reviews, and bibliographic information.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes bibliographic information and full-text articles covering the entirety of television and film. The database contains more than 160 full-text journals and books plus cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 journals. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation, restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, and technical aspects. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive are also made available through the Film & Television Literature Index. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database of full-text articles and abstracts across many disciplines, combining contents from other full-text EBSCO databases.
For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Index of academic publications that includes books, articles, conference procedings, and other literature
Google Scholar enables searching of millions of articles, citations, and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universites, and other websites. Use "find in a library" to check an article's availability at SCAD and libraries near you.

Popular Atlanta Periodicals

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution (AJC)
Atlanta's leading daily newspaper, covering news, business, politics, sports, and entertainment.
Atlanta Magazine
The city's premier general interest publication providing a mix of long-form nonfiction, lively lifestyle coverage, in-depth service journalism, and literary essays, columns, and profiles. See print copies in the journal display of the SCAD Libraries -- Atlanta.
Creative Loafing
Weekly newspaper covering local news, politics, arts, entertainment, food, music and events in Atlanta.
Georgia History Today
Georgia History Today explores the ongoing presence of the past, including articles on documents and artifacts in the Georgia Historical Society's collection, historic sites around the state, new books, and programs and activities throughout Georgia.
The Georgia Historical Quarterly
The Georgia Historical Quarterly is one of the premier state historical journals in the United States, published quarterly by the Georgia Historical Society. The Quarterly publishes scholarly articles on Georgia history and book reviews dealing with all aspects of southern and Georgia history.
Georgia Trend
Georgia Trend is a statewide business publication that offers analysis of business and political trends around the state, local economic development, and spotlights on important people and critical issues affecting the state.
Wikipedia's listing of media in Atlanta
Listing of local TV, radio, newspapers, magazines, and e-publications.

Atlanta

Search Catalog+

Work From Off-Campus

Types of Periodicals

Find Scholarly Articles at SCAD

Popular Atlanta Periodicals