Find Articles - ARTH 702 - Art Criticism - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Search Now

Classic Catalog

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Select your database by clicking on its name

For ID Number, use the 9-digit number located on the front of your SCAD ID card

You should now be logged in and able to search.

Ask A Librarian if you are having difficulties logging in.

Recommended Research Databases

Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
ProQuest database containing abstracts of academic and professional articles on modern art and architecture.
ARTbibliographies Modern contains abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, Ph.D. dissertations, and exhibition reviews with thousands added yearly. The database includes subjects in the arts, including performance art, installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramics, glass art, graphic design, exhibition design, fashion, and calligraphy as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. For more information about using ARTbibliographies Modern, visit Proquest.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Recommended Periodicals

The New York Times (online via Lexis Nexis)
1980-present online in Lexis Nexis, and the most current copies in print.
ArtForum International (print)
1962-present in print. Search for specific articles via ArtBibliographies Modern database (right).
October (online via MIT press journals)
2001- present online via MIT press journals. Articles 1997 - 2013 will also show up in Art Source searches.

Journal of aesthetics and art criticism
1941 - present online via databases linked.

Search Strategies

Customize your search to improve results.
HINT: This is where brainstorming a list of keywords related to your topic comes in handy!

“ ” Group keywords with quotation marks to search as an exact phrase.
Example: “the night watchman”

* Use the asterisk if you want to search multiple iterations of a keyword.
Example: sculpt* = sculpture, sculptors, sculpted

& Use AND to combine several keywords or phrases.
Example: "Ai Wei Wei" AND installation

+ Use OR to search for information about one term, and also articles about another term.
Example: sustainable OR eco-friendly

- Use NOT to search for information about one term, while excluding another term
Example: Michaelangelo NOT turtle

Advanced Search features make it easy to narrow a large result list. For example:

Subject links limit results to a specific topic or discipline

Specify a publication date range

Search within the title of an article, the summary or the entire text