Skip to main content

Special Collections at the Jen Library, SCAD-Savannah: Sequential Art

What is Special Collections?

Both Jen Library’s Archives and Special Collections and SCAD Libraries - Atlanta Special Collections house a number of collections of rare, unique, and valuable materials.

We are closed stack, so it helps to have the call numbers of the materials you would like to see. Our materials do not circulate; researchers must use the materials in the Reading Room. If photocopying is necessary, we can make exceptions for two hour in library check out for certain items that are not fragile  Researchers can always take photographs of the material with a camera or a phone. 

For more information about our collections, please see the links below:

Schedule a Visit

If you would like to see any of our collections for inspiration or research, please contact Jen Library's Special Collections at specialcollections@scad.edu  and SCAD Libraries - Atlanta Special Collections at sc_atl@scad.edu to schedule an appointment. Appointments are not always necessary, but it helps us to pinpoint what materials may best suit individual research needs.  

Hours

Jen Library's Special Collections is open Monday-Friday 8am - 5pm during the academic quarter.

During breaks, we are open Monday-Friday 8:30am - 5pm.

Appointments are recommended but not required.

SCAD Libraries - Atlanta Special Collections are available by appointment only.

About Our Sequential Collections

Our sequential arts collections consists of over 20,000 single issue comics from various donors, a growing collection of Indie comics, graphic novels, mini-comics and zines, including those by SCAD students and reference materials on the history of the genre. 

While there are a large number of graphic novels in the circulating collection, here in Special Collections, we concentrate on limited edition and small press graphic novels.  We also collect graphic non-fiction, memoirs, and biographies.  While graphic novels and reference materials are cataloged and can be found in the library's online catalog, many of our single issues are not.  However, the single issues have been inventoried, and title information can be provided on request. 

Sequential Art Collections

The Shirrel Rhoades Collection of Sequential Art contains over 8000 issues of comic books, graphic novels, and other related materials. Rhoades, a former executive with Marvel, donated several collections to the SCAD. Rhoades’ initial collection has been expanded through other generous donations from smaller sequential arts collectors and from exchanges with other institutions.

The Esteban Fuertes Collection of Sequential Art was donated to SCAD over the course of several years, with the final gift arriving in 2009. It consists of both comic books and graphic novels exclusively from publishers DC and Vertigo. The date range is from the late 1980’s through the mid 1990’s. 

A collection of trade paperbacks and graphic novels was donated by Catherine Cupps in Memoriam for Mary Catherine Cope. This collection arrived in 2008-2009, and is split between Special Collections and the circulating graphic novel collection, which is found on the first floor of Jen Library.

In late 2012, we received the Jeremy Mullins Collection, donated by the family of late SCAD Sequential Art Professor Jeremy Mullins, who received his MFA at SCAD and was a popular instructor in the program when he passed away in 2009. The processing of this substantial donation of approximately 5000 comics is still ongoing. 

In the spring and summer of 2013, Professor Jonathan Ingersoll of Yale University gifted a collection of nearly 2000 items to Special Collections. This donation included almost 1300 issues of Superman and other DC titles, a selection of Disney comics, and a complete run of Amazing Heroes magazine, as well as other comics related periodicals such as Will Eisner's The Spirit Magazine and Comic Book Artist.

Smaller donations from Sequential Art faculty, the Sequential Art Department, and from alumni of the program have also served to enhance and expand these collections.

Single Issue Comic Book Collections

We are constantly working to add the thousands of single issues found in the Sequential Art Collections to the library catalog so that you can see what titles are available for your research or reading pleasure. Here are a few examples:

Action Comics, 157 issues dated 1983-2009

Batman, 179 issues dated 1968-2008

Detective Comics, 160 issues dated 1986 - 2009

Fantastic Four, 326 issues dated 1965 - 1998

The Flash, 136 issues dated 1987-2007

John Constantine: Hellblazer, 80 issues dated 1988 - 1998

X-Factor, 61 issues dated 1986-1998

For further information on available titles, please contact the Special Collections staff.

Graphic Novels

Historical and Biographical Resources

Graphic Non-Fiction

Zines and Mini-Comics

In 2013, Special Collections began cultivating a new Zine and Comic Collection, which holds zines and comics purchased outside of SCAD.

You can locate specific items in the library's online catalog or stop by Special Collections and ask to see the Zine and Comic Collection.

We also collect Mini-comics by SCAD students.  These are cataloged in the library's online catalog by student's last name.  We are happy to take donattions.  Look for our donation box at the SCAD Mini-comic expo every year!

Periodicals and Anthologies

IDW Artists Editions

Recently, due to requests from the Sequential Faculty, we purchased a number of IDW Artists' Editions for our collection and hope in the coming years to purchase more.  Here is how the IDW website describes these:

IDW Publishing is also known for its groundbreaking Artist’s Editions series, which present complete stories with each page scanned from the original art. While appearing as black and white, each page is scanned in color to mimic as closely as possible the experience of viewing the original art, including corrections and blue pencils. Each page is printed the same size as drawn, and the paper selected is as close as possible to the original art board.