Skip to main content

Special Collections at the Jen Library, SCAD-Savannah: Don Bluth Collection of Animation

What is Special Collections?

Ask a question or schedule a research appointment or class visit.

Special collections materials serve as valuable resources in supporting student learning. Library staff are available to facilitate class sessions host your class and provide a selection of materials tailored to support specific curriculum instructional goals for the session. Faculty are encouraged to request instruction sessions at least two weeks in advance, in order to maximize staff planning, and space availability and allow sufficient time to collaboratively prepare for the session.

For Faculty: If you would like to schedule a class visit, please contact us at specialcollections@scad.edu at your earliest convenience. During the academic year, our instruction sessions fill up quickly, and due to the size and scope of the Don Bluth Collection, we need sufficient time to customize the materials to your students' needs and to set up.

For SCAD Clubs and Organizations: If your club or organization would like to come in to see the Don Bluth Collection of Animation as a club field trip, contact us at specialcollections@scad.edu to set up an appointment for your group. 

For Students: If you would like to see the Bluth Collection or use it for research, please contact us at specialcollections@scad.edu to schedule an appointment. Appointments are not always necessary, but it helps to pinpoint what materials may best suit individual research needs. 

Visit the collection digitally

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anastasia Costume Design, the Don Bluth Collection of Animation

Productions, MS 007, Series 1, Sub-Series , Jen Library Special Collections

Don Bluth Films

     

DVD cover for Banjo the Woodpile Cat

Banjo the Woodpile Cat was released on DVD in 2008.  Bonus features include: producers' commentary; a conversation with Don Bluth; Don, Gary, and John discuss their experiences in making the film in Don's garage; a 1980 television news article on their departure from Walt Disney Productions; trailers.

About the Collection

                                                    Color photocopy of a cel setup, Anastasia

The Don Bluth Collection of Animation came to the Savannah College of Art and Design as a donation from Don Bluth and Gary Goldman in fall of 2005. The collection consists of cels, animation drawings, storyboards, color models, and other materials created by Don Bluth Productions and later incarnations of this company in the creation of animated features and video games between 1979 and 2000. Also included in the collection are administrative, legal, and other documents, as well as scripts, concepts, and publicity related materials. The studio operated in both the United States and Ireland, and was, at various times, affiliated with other production companies. A preliminary inventory was completed by summer of 2006 and processing began in fall of that same year. Though the processing of the collection will continue for many years, materials already processed are available to researchers now.

Select Collection Materials: Backgrounds, Photos, Colorkeys

Don Bluth, the Don Bluth Collection of Animation, Photograph Collection, MS 007, Series 5, Jen Library Archives and Special Collections

Canine Mysteries, the Don Bluth Collection of Animation, Productions, MS 007, Series 1, Jen Library Archives and Special Collections

Don Bluth and child, the Don Bluth Collection of Animation, Photograph Collection, MS 007, Series 5, Jen Library Archives and Special Collections

Dragon's Lair Background, the Don Bluth Collection of Animation, Productions, MS 007, Series 1, Sub-Series 4, Jen Library Archives and Special Collections

Canine Mysteries, the Don Bluth Collection of Animation, Productions, MS 007, Series 1, Jen Library Archives and Special Collections

Dragon's Lair Background, the Don Bluth Collection of Animation, Productions, MS 007, Series 1, Sub-Series 4, Jen Library Archives and Special Collections

Library Resources

How the collection is organized

 

Space Ace, the Don Bluth Collection of Animation, Productions, MS 007, Series 1, Sub-Series 1.5, Jen Library Special Collections

Processing the Don Bluth Collection of Animation is an ongoing project that will likely continue for several more years. As materials are processed, finding aids containing inventory lists are created as guides to access specific collection materials . With in Series 1 alone, there are well over 1,000,000 works on paper or acetate. In order to assist researchers in the discovery of materials, the collection is divided into 11 major series. Series 1 and 6 contain subseries of grouped collection materials related to a specific productions with in the main series. Finding aids and or catalog records are available for highlighted materials below. For inquiries pertaining to inventory for all other collection materials please visit or email Special Collections at specialcollections@scad.edu

Series 1   Productions

sub-series 1.1  Banjo the Woodpile Cat, 1979

sub-series 1.2  Xanadu, 1980

subseries 1.3  The Secret of NIMH, 1982

subseries 1.4  Dragon's Lair, 1983

subseries 1.5  Space Ace, 1984

subseries 1.6  An American Tail, 1986

subseries 1.7  The Land Before Time, 1988

subseries 1.8  All Dogs Go to Heaven, 1989

subseries 1.9   Dragon's Lair II, 1991

subseries 1.10 Rock a Doodle, 1992

subseries 1.11  Thumbelina, 1994

subseries 1.12  A Troll in Central Park

subseries 1.13  The Pebble and the Penguin

subseries 1.14  Anastasia, 1997

subseries  1.15  Bartok the Magnificent, 1999

subseries 1.16 Titan AE, 2000

subseries 1.17 Dragon's Lair 3-D, 2000

subseries 1.18 You Are Mine!, 2003

subseries 1.19 Ice Whale/ Little Blue Whale

Series 2   Concept Art

  • Atlantis
  • Barney Basset & Dotty
  • Canine Mysteries
  • Commercials
  • The Magic Pencils
  • Nighthawk
  • Pac Man Adventures
  • Piper Lullaby
  • The Velveteen Rabbit

Series 3   Scripts

Series 4   Musical Scores

Series 5   Photographic Materials

Series 6   Merchandise and Publicity

subseries 6.1  Banjo the Woodpile Cat, 1979

subseries 6.2  The Secret of NIMH, 1982

subseries 6.3  Dragon's Lair, 1983

subseries 6.4  Space Ace, 1984

sub-series 6.5 All Dogs Go to Heaven, 1989

subseries 6.6 Rock A Doodle, 1992

subseries 6.7  Anastasia, 1997

subseries 6.8 Titan AE, 2000

subseries 6.9 Textiles

subseries 6.10 Posters

subseries 6.11 Flipbooks and Metal Pins

Series 7   Awards

Series 8   Audio and Visual Materials

Series 9   Producers Files

Series 10  Administrative Papers

Series 11   Periodicals

Exposure Sheet, Don Bluth Newsletter

Don Bluth's Toon Talk