Skip to Main Content

ARTH 701 - Contemporary Art: Find Articles

Savannah Fall 2019

Catalog Plus

Find Articles

Scholarly journal articles - found in library databases - provide specific, in-depth information.

Start here or use the databases by title or by subject lists on the library website.

Search Strategies

Customize your search to improve results.
HINT:
This is where your list of keywords comes in handy!

“”
Group keywords with quotation marks to search as an exact phrase
Example: “book of genesis”
& Use AND to combine several keywords or phrases
Example: “creation story”  AND paintings
+ Use OR to search for information about one term, 
and also articles about another term. 
Example: cupid OR eros
* Use the asterisk if you want to search multiple iterations of a keyword. 
Example: sculpt* = sculpture, sculptors, sculpted


Advanced Search features make it easy to narrow a large result list. For example:

  • Subject links limit results to a specific topic or discipline
  • Specify a publication date range
  • Search within the title of an article, the summary or the entire text

Search the Library for Books, Articles, DVDs and more:

Search the majority of SCAD Libraries' digital and physical collections - locate news, magazine and journal articles, books and ebooks, digital images, and more.

Recommended Research Databases

If Catalog Plus is too overwhelming, or you want to do a really concentrated search for a topic in art history, you can search directly in one of the databases below.

Accessing Full Text

When using a database, book for PDF links, or in Catalog Plus look for a Full Text Online link. Click to access the article.

Not all articles are available as PDF, or there may be multiple options for access. If you click 'Find it @ SCAD' or 'Full Text Online' you may see the below page:

find it at scad

No digital OR print options for your article? Not sure how to find a printed article on the shelf? Experiencing technical issues/broken links?  Ask A Librarian for help!