Industry and Market Info - LXMT 730 - Marketing Strategies for Luxury Brands and Experiences - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Statista

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal that aggragates data from reliable sources into industry reports, statistics, and charts.
Statista covers a wide array of industries, demographics, and geographical areas. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Information used for Statista reports and charts is pulled from market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data is available through a Creative Commons license for download to spreadsheets and slide presentations. For information about using Statista, visit: Working With Statista.

Euromonitor - Industry Information

Euromonitor International This link opens in a new window Passport by Euromonitor International is a global market research database that provides industry data, country reports, and global reports about strategies and markets, company profiles, articles, statistics, and presentations.
Euromonitor International contains market analysis, distribution patterns, and sales forecasts detailed in-depth analytic reports for both developed and emerging national markets as well as insights into consumer preferences and global market performance. This database includes information on national company and brand competition and market strategies in addition to analysis and profiles of the top international companies in the industry. Beyond reports, Euromonitor provides articles and presentations on key themes and discussion topics.

To get industry information from Euromonitor:

Use the "Find Analysis" box on the home page

Select "industries"

Then select an industry category and geography (country/region) and click "GO"

On the results page, use the sidebar to narrow even further, or look for these recommended content types:

Industry overview: Report summarizing annual market data and major issues for a broader industry
Category briefing: Report summarizing annual business trends, prospects and sales data for a product category (e.g. womenswear, sportswear, accessories)
Opinion: Article providing a shorter, professional analysis of a current issue, trend or challenge

Library Database - Business Source Premier

Use the links below to explore industry reports within the Business Source Premier.

TIP: Industry research is very broad. For example, if researching info about handbags, try using the keywords accessories, leather goods or apparel instead.

Business Source Premier
Use the search box at the top of the screen to search within results.

Market and Country Reports - Business Source Premier

Use the links below to explore industry reports within the Business Source Premier.

TIP: Industry research is very broad. For example, if researching info about handbags, try using the keywords accessories, leather goods or apparel instead.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, and case studies as well as company, industry, market, and country reports.
Business Source Premier provides full-text articles back to 1886 for more than 2,000 journals, including full text for more than 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The database includes resources from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing and more. The database also includes other information sources such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group, and CountryWatch as well as detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and Associate Press (AP) video content. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

City and Neighborhood-Specific Research

Generally, city specific information is not complied in research reports in the library's collections. Here are some alternative tips to research a location:

First, gather essential facts such as: name of the neighborhood; names of key streets; zip or postal codes; other stores (especially competitors) located nearby. These can be used as search words to narrow or expand your research.
Search the web for a local business bureau or chamber of commerce. These organizations will often provide data that is used to attract business to a region, city or neighborhood. Contact them for more info, if necessary
Identify newspapers local to your chosen location and look for articles about recent business developments. The library's database, Lexis Nexis provides current U.S. and international newspaper articles. For major fashion hubs, a search of WWD or BoF may also be useful.

Foot traffic research:

Google search the nearby businesses to see popular traffic times (shows up in the Google results sidebar, and in Google Map searches). This does not tell how many people are visiting, but explains the times that they visit.
Browse the area in location-specific apps/sites like Yelp and Foursquare to get a sense of how many people are "checking in" at the local sites and stores. It can lend clues as to which places are most popular in a certain location, and why.

LXMT 730 - Marketing Strategies for Luxury Brands and Experiences: Industry and Market Info

Statista

Euromonitor - Industry Information

Library Database - Business Source Premier

Market and Country Reports - Business Source Premier

City and Neighborhood-Specific Research