Find Background Information

Reference sources are useful for basic background information or a general overview of a topic.

Attributed to Nihal Chand, Maharaja Raj Singh in Procession with Members of His Court, ca.1700. Via the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Wikipedia Alternatives

How do I find basic information about a work of art or artist (that isn't from Wikipedia)?

Look in art encyclopedias or on museum websites, like those listed below.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedic resource covering the history of art with an emphasis on western art.
Oxford Art Online is comprised of the Oxford Dictionary of Art, the Grove Encyclopedia of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art and includes an image library. This database provides peer-reviewed articles written by experts in the field to introduce key topics, themes, figures, and movements in the history of art. For help using Oxford Art Online, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Smarthistory This link opens in a new window
Online art history textbook containing hundreds of videos, essays, and images of major periods, themes, and artists around the world from ancient to contemporary.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Presents the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Includes interactive maps & timeline, information and objects.
Himalayan Art Resources
Himalayan Art Resources features thousands of artworks from Tibet, Nepal, Bhutan, India, China and Mongolia.

Using Reference Sources

Don't end your research here! Reference sources are too general to be used on their own. But, they are perfect for getting basic information and ideas for in-depth research.

When using a reference source, look for key terms, clues and leads such as:

Important dates and time periods
Notable places
Subjects, characters, stories, symbols, etc.
Artists, patrons and other people involved
Info on style, form, function
Related historical and social factors
Prominent scholars and suggested articles and books (check bibliographies/references)

Write down these terms as you find them. You can keep a running list as you continue your research.

Be aware a person, place or idea may have more than one name! Remain alert for synonyms and alternative words.

Re-use these terms as keywords when searching the library catalog and databases.

Required and Recommended Readings

Indian Art by Vidya Dehejia
Call Number: N7301 .D444 1997
Ramayana by Ranchor Prime Ramayana, meaning Rama's travels is one of the greatest epics of all times. Packed with action and romance, this 4,000 year old story of
Call Number: PR9499.3.A545 R36 1997

ARTH 289 - Indian Art and Architecture: Find Background Information