Research Guides: Faculty Resources &amp; Services: Collection Highlights

Special Collections, Digitized Collections and Graduate Theses

SCAD Libraries' Special Collections
The SCAD Libraries' Special Collections include archives, rare books, artists’ books, and student theses. These are teaching collections and the library welcomes class visits to utilize these unique resources.
The Visual Resources Center
The Visual Resources Center provides digital images and slides to the students, faculty and staff of the SCAD community. The primary function of the Visual Resources Center is to acquire, catalog and provide effective access to images of works of art, architecture and design to be used in classroom instruction, student presentations and research.
Digitized Special Collections
Digitized Special Collections serve both the SCAD community and the worldwide academic community through digitization projects that preserve and share scholarly resources. Current collections include SCAD Libraries - Atlanta Artist's Books, Graduate Theses, The Don Bluth Collection of Animation, and Images of Savannah.

Catalog Plus: A Starting Point for Research

Use the Catalog Plus search box to obtain a wide array of sources - such as articles, eBooks, books and more - from the library's catalog and most databases. This is also the default search on the library home page, and is a useful tool for searching broadly across the libraries' collections.

Catalog Plus Search Tips

Library Databases

The SCAD Libraries provide access to a wide variety of online databases. Databases are specialized, private subscription websites that each offer a unique subject scope (which may be specific to one field, or interdisciplinary) and content type (such as academic journals, high quality images, ebooks, current news, industry reports, or statistics). Database access is provided to current faculty, students and staff.

Use the A-Z list linked below to view a complete list of databases. Use the drop-down option to limit to a particular discipline or subject area.

Databases A-Z

Find Books at SCAD Libraries

Search for books and more using the library catalog

Check the location, availability and call number before heading to the shelf
Not sure how to read a call number? Learn more by reading our how-to use call numbers section.
Books are organized by subject, so take time to browse the shelves. There might be something useful nearby on the shelves.
Get books from other SCAD locations or place a hold with the request service. Read more information on how to Request Books.

Search e-Book Collections

eBook Collection (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Ebook collection covering a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, history, science, literature, and more.
EBSCO's multidisciplinary eBook Collection includes thousands of ebooks covering a large selection of academic subjects from leading publishers. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook collection covering a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, history, science, literature, and more.
Proquest's Ebook Central provides over 100,000 ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers. Researchers can find relevant Ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the Ebook; and highlight, take notes, and bookmark pages in online copies that can be stored on a personal bookshelf. Ebooks and individual chapters can be downloaded and shared across platforms. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
O'Reilly Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook and video library covering a wide range of technology topics including digital media, software, programming, web applications, business, and professional development.
For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Website hosting archived webpages, digitized books, and other media available for download.
The Internet Archives includes the Wayback Machine, which archives past versions of websites, as well as millions of books, texts, audio recordings, live concerts, videos, images, and software programs.