Archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to the current year, reproduced in high-resolution images.
The Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the fashion and retail publication Women’s Wear Daily (WWD). This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for fashion, business, and history. Scans of every page are included in high-resolution, with searchable text and indexing for each article, advertisement, and cover. Take research deeper by cross-searching with other the Vogue Archive, arts indexes, historical periodicals, and newspapers in other ProQuest databases. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Trend forecasting platform that provides industry and trade show reports as well as trends, forecasting, consumer profiles, and market intelligence across two sector channels: Fashion and Lifestyle & Interiors.
Hundreds of high-quality images of textiles, garments, accessories and jewelry.For fashion images, do a simple keyword search e.g. "victorian dress" OR do an advanced search for keywords and limit to classification>Fashion, Costume and Jewelry.
Artstor sources content from museums, archives, and libraries across the world for educational and research purposes. Beyond fine art and art history images, Artstor includes fashion, decorative arts, architecture, and photography. SCAD Libraries’ subscription allows for free use of images in presentations, assignments, and other non-commercial educational activities. For information on accessing and searching Artstor, visit: Artstor Quick-Start Guide.
Digital Image Database
Ladies Wool Bodice, c.1870-1879 Repository: Savannah College of Art and Design
Hundreds of fashion images and illustrations. Features items from the SCAD Museum collection: to find them, search category>Fashion & Textile + Repository>Savannah College of Art and Design.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
MET Costume Institute
Corset, Royal Worcester Corset Company (American, 1864–1950)
Fashion, dress and textile images from all cultures and time periods. Especially good for traditional/non-western costume. Do a keyword search and limit the results to "Images Only" OR Browse>Period to view images by decade.
Berg Fashion Library is a leading academic source providing reference entries, images, and ebooks for fashion, textiles, and cultural studies research. For help navigating Berg Fashion Library, visit How to Use.
The Victoria and Albert Museum in London is the world's largest museum of decorative arts and design. Their website features images and articles on contemporary and historical fashion exhibitions and events.
"Fashion plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century." One of the University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections.