Skip to main content

Finding and Using Images: SCAD's Image Databases

Tips for finding images for research and creative projects

SCAD's Image Databases

Need the highest-quality art and design images? SCAD's image databases are your best bet:

encaustic painting image

Creative Commons licensed image

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer! Tips for off-campus access:

  • After selecting a database link, the login window will open.
  • Enter your last name as it appears on the front of your SCAD ID card
  • For ID Number, use the 9-digit number located on the front of your SCAD ID card

    Ask A Librarian if you are having difficulties logging in.

      Search Before Scanning

      anti stack of books Save time by searching SCAD's image databases before scanning that stack of books and magazines! The images you need may only be a click away.

      Images from SCAD databases:

      • are high-resolution, making it easy to zoom in and examine small details
      • are ONLY available to current SCAD students, faculty and staff. You won't find these images on Google!
      • are accompanied by complete info such as artist, title, date, medium, etc.
      • may be safely downloaded
      • may be used in class papers and presentations

      Creative commons licensed image

      Image Databases on the Library Website

      In addition to this guide, image databases are listed under Databases Tab on the library website.

      Select Browse By Title to find a specific database, or Browse by Subject to see a list of all image databases.