Skip to main content

Special Collections at the Jen Library, SCAD-Savannah: Printmaking

Books with Examples of Printmaking Techniques

Printmaking and book arts have been intertwined disciplines for centuries.  Spaces for woodcut capitals and illustrations were left in the earliest printed books.  These woodcuts were often hand colored.  Over time, more printmaking techniques were incorporated into both printed and handmade books.  Here in Special Collections, there are a number of books in the artists’ book and the fine press collections that have beautiful hand pulled prints using a variety of printing methods.  Below are several examples, grouped by printing method.

Printmaking Techniques

Woodcut Prints

The McGinley Paper Co. sample book of faults / [Sarah Nicholls]. 

N7433.4.N5346 M36 2007

"A collection of faults collected anonymously over a period of about a year from willing volunteers ... The patterns were based on textiles and printed from woodcuts over two years. Thank you to the Free Wood Guy at Lumber City Wide. Much of the type used in the production of this book was donated to the Center for Book Arts by Doris Raymond and Lowell Bodger..."--Colophon.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

Helene Kottanner's memoirs / [book design, woodcuts, typesetting, printing and bookbinding are by Gwen Diehn].

N7433.4.D54 H45 2008

"This book, inspired by a rare medieval memoir, was written in 1450 by a handmaid to the Queen of Hungary. The story describes the death-defying adventures of two women to assure the crown for the Queen's infant son. This richly illustrated English translation of the memoir unfolds to a 325 inch accordion format"--Publisher's description.  Woodcut, letterpress, and watercolor on handmade paper; bound with twine.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

Munakata: the "way" of the woodcut / Munakata.

NE1217 .M85 A5 1961

"'The Way of the Woodcut' is the third in a series of keepsakes published by the Pratt Adlib Press under the direction of Fritz Eichenberg, Chairman of the Department of Graphic Arts and Illustration, the Art School, Pratt Institute. The book was designed and the type set by Igal Roodenko and printed by James Lanier at the Press of Igal Roodenko. The woodcuts, made as a special contribution to this edition by Shiko Munakata, were printed from the original blocks.

To see these images in a higher resolution, try the SCAD Digital Image Database

 


River / by Andy Farkas

 N7433.4.F375 R5 2010

Accordion bound into end papers. The prints are printed in the traditional Japanese style of moku hanga (woodblock printing with water-based pigments) on sized kozo paper. Text paper also handmade from kozo. Text printed by rubbings from relief type. Laid in wraps of handmade paper from Egyptian flax and dyed in indigo by Cave Paper. Edition of 15 --From colophon.

To see these images in a higher resolution, try the SCAD Digital Image Database

 

Bent like the river / by Terry Schupbach-Gordon.

 N7433.4 .S38 B4 1994

"A short, lyrical poem is brought to life by a series of powerful woodcuts. The contents celebrates and affirms the lives of people living with disabilities. The rhythmic quality of the verse is echoed by the syncopated marks of the gouge and the movement of the bodies and waterways depicted over the pages."--Women's Studio Workshop

To see these images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

 

 

 

Gawain: a Response to the Opera by Harrison Birtwistle Using Words from the Libretto by David Horsent / conceived, cut in wood, printed and bound by Carolyn Trant.

N7433.4.T72 G28 1998

Miniature version of the original limited edition, large format, leather bound and sewn 'Gawain' produced in 1997. The Book is printed in red, green and black, presenting Gawain and the Knight as alter egos, and in keeping with the theme it is made from very natural materials. There are 19 woodcut images.  The miniature edition was made in 1998, with all the images re-cut, and printed as a concertina book, with computer generated text, and hand-made paper covered covers. The book measuring 14×18 cm/ 5”x7”, is boxed in dark green covered solander box with a gold embossed image, lined with green and gold marbled paper.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

The book about cats and other things / Dmitry Sayenko; wood engravings by author;  translation into English by Alexandra Demidova.

N7433.4.S294 B66 2014  folio

English text. 33 pages with woodcuts & linocuts printed on one side. Format: 10.63 x15.551 inches (27 x 39.5 cm) Typeface: 20th Century Medium Condensed 18 & Baskerville 36. The paper: Somerset (300 gr.) The cover: Wooden typeset, image: woodcut painted by watercolor, spine: fabric glued on the cardboard, in a slipcase.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

Tokonoma: twenty haiku and tanka / by James Kirkup; with woodcuts by Naoko Matsubara.

PR6021.I64 T6 1999 folio

"James Kirkup wrote the verses. Naoko Matsubara created the woodcuts. Alan Flint printed them under her supervision. Martyn Ould printed the text in hand-set Perpetua at The Old School Press."

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

Leading the cranes home: a selection of Chinese poems / translated by Arthur Waley; woodblock prints [and introduction] by Ralph Kiggell.

PL2658.E3 L38 2006

“A selection of 24 Chinese poems translated by orientalist Arthur Waley in the first half of the twentieth century, first published in 170 Chinese poems (Contable and Company, 1918) and Chinese poems (Allen and Unwin, 1946)… The book was designed and printed by Nicolas McDowall ... The paper is 250 gsm Velin Arches, the type is Elizabeth and Ralph Kiggell's wood blocks were all printed from the wood."--Colophon.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database


Shadowland: pictures from a silent screen: woodcuts and drypoints / by Frank Martin with a commentary by the artist.

 NE2225.M377 A4 2002  folio

Litho printed on Arches Rivoli paper by Northend Printers of Sheffield. Typeset by Charles Hall. Bound by The Fine Bindery. Produced in an edition of 280 copies of which 42 have an additional set of prints, printed from the blocks by Hand & Eye Letterpress. -- Colophon. 

Even though this book is Litho Printed, we included it because the original woodcuts include the grain of the wood, which most of our other examples do not include.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

Wood Engraving

 

The mysterious death of Tom Thomson: a wordless narrative told by 109 wood engravings / by George A. Walker.

 NE1113.5 .W35 A4 2011

"Printed in a limited edition of thirty-nine copies. George A. Walker created the original art & wood engravings and incised them on the end grain of Canadian maple and printed the text and images on his Vandercook SP15 proof press"--Colophon.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

Yvonne Skargon: thirty wood engravings chosen by the artist, prefaced by an autobiographical note.

 NE1147.6.S53 A4 2004

"135 copies designed and printed by Sebastian Carter at the Rampant Lions Press for The Primrose Academy Ltd, on Zerkall mould-made paper; typeset by Speedspools, Edinburgh, and bound by The Fine Bindery, Wellingborough"--Colophon.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

Diana Bloomfield: twenty-six wood engravings chosen by the artist with an autobiographical note.

NE1147.6 .B59 D53 1995

One of 135 copies signed by the artist, printed at Rampant Lions Press from the original blocks. "The Engraver's Cut" series.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

Pastorale / wood-engravings by Lucien Pissarro; with a note on the Kelmscott paper by John Bidwell.

NE1143.5.P57 A4 2011

“The Ashmolean ... have kindly allowed us to print from Lucien's original wood-blocks which are in their possession. The Morgan Library and Museum ... supplied 2000 sheets of the Batchelor's Crown and Sceptre paper which has lain in their store for over a century"--P. [5].

The first image of the train is a woodcut, and was an added print with this collection of wood engravings. 

The 100 copies half-bound in Oasis leather and pre-war Fabriano Ingres are printed on the Flower paper made for the Kelmscott Press, and also contain the proofs and additional engraving…--Colophon.

To see more images from this book or images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.


The cats at the printing house at the Sign of the Four Ducks: (a tale of five kitties) / by Bill Jackson, who also did the wood engravings.

N7433.4 .J335 C38 1996

"The paper is dampened Rives, printed on the 8 x 12 C&P at the Four Ducks Press. The book was hand bound at the IBID, in an edition of thirty..."-Colophon.

Bill Jackson, proprietor of the Printing House at the Sign of the Four Ducks passed away several years ago. His entire shop was housed in a one-car attached garage at his residence at 2222 Rivera Street, Wichita, KS. The “four ducks” references the address of 2222 which Bill caligraphically drew to look like four ducks. His linoleum block illustrations were fabulous and he was an amazing printer.--from the Briar Press website.

To see more images from this book or images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.                                                                                 


Back roads to far places after Basho / Poems by Lawrence Ferlinghetti; prints by Stephanie Peek.

PS3511.E557 B3 2003

A Japanese hand scroll with nine poems by Lawrence Ferlinghetti, accompanied by ten spit bite etchings by San Francisco artist Stephanie Peek. The poems, inspired by Haiku poet Massou Basho, were set and letterpress printed by Alan Hillesheim at Digger Pine Press in Berkeley. The etchings were printed by Paul Mullowney at Tokugenji Zen temple in Nara, Japan.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.


The fall of the house of Usher / Edgar Allan Poe; illustrated with etching and lithographs by Alice Neel.

 PS2614 .A1 1985  folio

Designed by Ben Shiff, hand-set in Monotype Dante by Michael and Winifred Bixler, printed at the Anthoensen Press, and bound by John von Isakovics. The book includes 2 lithographs and 1 etching by Neel.  Depicted here is the etching.  See Lithography tab for the lithographs. 

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

First visit / Sara Langworthy.

N7433.4.L365 F57 2001

Six leaves of board, each cut out to form a rectangular frame and covered with black cloth; each frame has a rectangular transparency (etching) inset and held in place with bookbinder's thread. Transparencies may be viewed from recto and verso. Back and front covers are gray cloth boards with smaller transparencies inset near black cloth spine.

To see the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

Bear hunt, from "Goldy Locks continued"; a prose poem, illustrated with twenty-four engravings from Indian art of the Eastern United States, by W. Stanton Forbes. 

PS3511.O368 B4 1958

Although the book is not specific about the printing technique beyond the description "engraving,"  they appear to be linocuts.  The books were designed and printed at the Ashantilly Press in Darien, Georgia. 

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

 

A dog's life in letters / words by Lawrence G. van Velzer; illustrations by Peggy Gotthold.

SF426.2 .V36 2013

Handbound illustrated-paper over boards with paper title label on cloth spine. Alphabet book with each letter of the alphabet is represented by a breed of dog with rhyme by Lawrence Van Velzer and a linocut by Peggy Gotthold.

"Printed letterpress and bound at the Press in a first edition of 200 copies. The text is hand-set Poliphilus and the initials are from the collection of Foolscap Press. The paper is Curtis Holcomb Text. The linoleum blocks were cut by Peggy Gotthold and type and blocks printed by Lawrence Van Velzer." from the Colophon
To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

 

Brooklyn's rescued bestiary: portraits of animals saved by Sean Casey Animal Rescue / written by Virginia M. Cahill; engravings by David G. Klein.

 Z239 .S77 2012  folio

Letterpress printed and hand-bound in an edition of 68 copies signed by the author and the illustrator. Printed at The Arm Letterpress in Brooklyn. Images were printed directly from the artist's engraved linoleum plates and the text was printed from polymer plates.

This book was funded as a Kickstarter Project, which raised money for the publication of the book. Sales of the book benefit the Sean Casey Animal Rescue in Brooklyn.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.


To one's taste / created by the Fall typography class with the advice of Kitty Maryatt.

 N7433.4.S3956 T6 2008

"This book was printed by a sprinkling of eleven students in the Fall 2008 Typography class at the Scripps College Press. The paper used was Japanese Yatso paper in a bouquet of colors reminiscent of the spices discussed within this redolent tome. Each student hand-set their piquant section from a selection of five typefaces and printed their work on well-seasoned Vandercook presses. Each image is a delectable linoleum block print. The binding was designed to mimic a book a pungent spice trader might carry"--Colophon

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.


Writers and artists of the Dorset coast / with and introduction and observations by Michael Harrison and linocuts and scraperboard drawings by Alan Richards; and sections on Sidmouth (just in Devon), Lyme Regis, Weymouth, Chesil Beach & Portland Bill, Swanage, Poole & Studland, and Bournemouth.

 N7433.3.W75 2006

The book is set in Joanna by Charles Hall, the linocuts are printed letterpress on Zerkal paper by John Grice at the Evergreen Press, the text pages are printed litho on Hahnamuhle Bugrapapier by the Aldgate Press.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

 


Istoriato / Mare Blocker.

 N7433.4.B654 I8 2001

Presented in a drop-spine box covered with blue book cloth; circular design printed on the top of the box. Box contains book and ceramic plate separated by a blue book cloth covered board. Book is letterpress printed multi-color images from linoleum blocks with some hand coloring on Magnani Pescia paper; most pages are round with some shaped as urn, pitcher, or book, and attached to a concertina; covers are round and covered in blue book cloth with maiolica design on front. Plate is hand-painted in maiolica style; each design is unique. Blue gros-grain ribbon secures plate, board and book in box.

To see more images from this book or images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.  

The history of papermaking in the Philippines / Peter and Donna Thomas.

 TS1095.P55 T46 2005

"Seventy-five copies of this book have been letterpress printed on Peter's handmade paper and handbound by Peter and Donna Thomas. The illustrations were printed from linoleum blocks carved by Donna Thomas. ... The cloth used on the binding is called T'nalak. It is woven from abaca fiber by the T'boli people in South Cotabato. The patterns in the cloth are created before the cloth is woven by employing a complex method of ikat, a wax resist tie-dye."--Colophon.

To see more images from this book or images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.  

 

The country place; poems.

 PZ8.3.R245 Co 1959

Linoleum blocks designed and cut by Anne Lee Haynes.The Ashantilly Press was named after the house, Ashantilly, built in 1820 by Thomas Spalding in Darien, Georgia. It became the property of the Haynes Family in 1918 and they rebuilt the house after a fire in 1937. The Ashantilly Press was founded in the mid 1950’s by William G. Haynes using a printing press purchased from a pharmacist in Riceboro. The press printed at least thirty titles, the last in 1991.

To see more images from this book or images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.  

 


Interior landscape / [Lyall F. Harris].

N7433.4.H3775 I58 2011

"This edition was developed and completed in 2011. Mixed media linoleum cut images [of trees and houses] with slight variations were made on Folio Vellum printmaking paper. Goudy Old Style digital type was printed from polymer plates and handwritten text was digitally reproduced. Italic excerpts are from Plath's poems Child and The Munich Mannequins, both written on January 28, 1963"--Handwritten colophon on inside of pages.

To see more images from this book or images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

 


Whipstock / written, designed & letterpress printed by AB Gorham.

N7433.4.G674 W45 2014

"Typeset in Scala & printed on a Vandercock 15-21 with photopolymer plates & linoleum block on handmade cotton/abaca paper."

"An attempt to understand the lore spun throughout lifetimes spent in the oil patches, courthouses and other haunts of the oil and gas industry, Whipstock manages the iconoclast of the landman, the grid of Township and Range used to identify tracts of land, as well as the more organic and inorganic forms that comprise the actual physical landscape. Paging through the book, the act of unfolding the folios creates a series of shifting views, a slow exposure of this complicated concept."--Artist's Statement, Vamp and Tramp website.

To see more images from this book or images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

James Johnston, Georgia's first printer. With decorations & remarks on Johnston's work by Ray Dilley.

Z232.J7 L3 1956

This book has been set in the Monotype Binny and Baskerville types. The illustrations, except for the facsimile plates, (page 23, the tailpiece on page 36, and Johnston's signature), are linoleum blocks. It was designed and printed in the office of The Pigeohhole Press Savannah. --Colophon

To see more images from this book or images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

Winter / translated from early Welsh by Bill Griffiths, lithographs by Nicholas and Mary Parry.

PB2281 .W56 2000

"45 copies are here printed using TIERN type for the first time. With lithographs printed from the stone on Arches paper. Made by Nicholas & Mary Parry at the Tern Press."--Colophon.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

 

 

World over world / by Barbara Siegel; text by Gary Schwartz.

N7433.4 .S544 W67 2000

The book contains twelve hand-lithographed prints on hand-made Kitakata, Okawara and Goyu Japanese papers. Each hand-made lithographs is a montage of images culled from old archeology, biology and medical textbooks. Image and text pages are interleaved with transparencies simulating archeological strata and the anatomical overlays in biology textbooks.  These are tipped onto Rives paper and interleaved with images hand-printed on transparent mylar sheets that interact with both the montaged print and the en face page of poetic text. The twelve alternation text pages are hand-printed directly onto Rives paper to simulate chine collé.

To see more images from this book or images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Continuum / paintings by Clarice Smith, text by David Bruce Smith.

N7433.4.S657 C66 1989

Continuum was the first collaboration between David Bruce Smith and artist Clarice Smith. Her series of Venetian paintings provided the context for him to write about his mother’s repeatedly enchanted journeys to the “City of Light.”--author's website.  A signed lithograph by the artist is laid in at the back of the book.

To see this image in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

Greed / lithographs by Claire Van Vliet.

N7433.4.V554 G74 2013

Printed on eight leaves connected laterally and folded accordion style to form a continuous strip which is affixed to p. [2] of cover. Four of the leaves are illustrated with Van Vliet's black and white lithographs of distorted faces: a propagandist, a lobbyist, a banker, and Joe Public. The four folded leaves feature text in various types and colors.

"Lithographs by Claire Van Vliet; printed by Eystein Hanche-Olsen at SKHS in Oslo on Zerkall Butten papier. The text was handset and printed letterpress ..."--Colophon.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

 

 

 

The fall of the house of Usher / Edgar Allan Poe; illustrated by Alice Neel.

 PS2614 .A1 1985  folio

Designed by Ben Shiff, hand-set in Monotype Dante by Michael and Winifred Bixler, printed at the Anthoensen Press, and bound by John von Isakovics. The book includes 2 lithographs and 1 etching by Neel.  Please see the etching tab to view the etching from this book. 

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

Crazy quilt / [Maureen Cummins].

 N7433.4.C86 C73 1998

"Printed in an edition of 100 using silkscreen and letterpress printing. The book was created in the autumn of 1998 at Women's Studio Workshop."--Colophon.

To see  the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

 

 

The Feast / [Tomi Um]

N7433.4.U5 F43 2008  

"...a series of limited edition fold-out books by Tomi Um. Entitled The Feast, Um's four-volume set tells the story of a group of playful monks obsessed with noodles. In each book, the monks set off on a quest to find or create the aromatic dish, which they eventually eat and offer to Buddha. Screenprinted with silver and red inks, Um's beautifully rendered drawings become more elaborate as the book unfolds, culminating in a poster-size composition aswarm with activity centering on the object of the monks' passion."--From printedmatter.org.

To see the images in a higher resolution or to see more images, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

Eight breakfasts in 8 pages / Deborah Frederick.

 N7433.4 .F74 E54 1999

Silkscreened illustrations on colored paper, in printed illustrated wrappers. Spiral bound.

To see these images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

Some of these daze / drawings by Mimi Gross ; writings by Charles Bernstein.

 N7433.4.G76 S5 2005

"Beginning on September 11, 2001, Mimi Gross filled five sketchbooks with ink drawings made on the downtown streets, often working in the dark, directly at Ground Zero. Simultaneously, Charles Bernstein was also writing in response to the events of 9/11. Gross proposed a collaboration after hearing Bernstein read his new writings at the Zinc Bar in New York City on September 30, 2001. Gross and Bernstein together made a selection of images and text for the book...Printed in silkscreen in several colors by Luther Davis at Axelle Fine Arts. Ltd..."--Colophon.

To see these images in a higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database.

   

As I wandered / [by Christine Tacq].

 N7433.4.T37 A8 1999

Number 6 in an edition of 25, signed by author. Hand sewn with relief collagraphs on Zerkall paper and housed in CD jewel case.

To see  the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

For Gladstone / [written, set, printed, and illustrated by Shirley Jones].

 SF445.5 .J66 1988

"Written, set, printed & illustrated by Shirley Jones.  Ten mezzotints & a mezzotint combined with relief etching accompany the text, printed in 18-point Gill Sans type on Rives mould-made paper in an edition limited to 50" --Colophon

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database

 


Chwedlau / designed and printed by Shirley Jones.

N7433.4.J665 C59 2005  folio

Each of the seven essays is prefigured by a blind-printed etching, or, in one case, by a small mezzotint, & faces a full-page mezzotint or aquatint. The essays were set at Gwasg Gregnyog [Tregynon, Newtown, Powys, Wales] in 14-point Baskerville typeface, & printed letterpress throughout by Shirley Jones on Somerset Velvet mouldmade paper.

To see more images of this book or the images in higher resolution, try SCAD's Digital Image Database


True as earth, strong as water / [designed, printed, and bound by Shu-Ju Wang]

 N7433.4.W36 T78 2011

"Print Gocco screen prints and Solarplate etchings on handmade Nepal Heavyweight and cotton paper made by Helen Hiebert; etchings printed with the help of Barbara Mason; covered in handmade Taiwan mulberry paper. The Hiebert papers each contains the following: soil of the South Dakota farm where Arnie was born and raised; water of the Pacific Ocean; water of the Columbia River; water of the Willamette River; soil of the Sauvie Island farm that Arnie shares with his wife, Ruth Metz."--Colophon.

 


The Woodstock almanac, 1924: containing useless misinformation concerning man and beast / edited by Ernest Brace and Rudolf Wetterau.

 NE1227 .B72 1924

52 page almanac created by artists and graphic designers of Woodstock, New York, laid out in a monthly format, including 15 full page wood and linoleum cuts as well as numerous small scale ones throughout the text.