Skip to Main Content

Special Collections at the Jen Library, SCAD-Savannah: Digital Collections

SCAD Libraries - Atlanta Artist's Book Collection

SCAD Libraries - Atlanta owns a premier collection of over 2,100 artists' books. Artists' books are works of art that experiment with the potential of the book. The genre includes immense diversity in shape, medium, and content. SCAD's collection contains unique works by individual artists as well as small editions and items from fine arts presses. The collection is unusual in its variety; it includes works from more than 1,000 artists and has a deep holding of books ranging from the 1960s through contemporary works.

SCAD Libraries - Atlanta Artist's Book Collection

Images of Savannah

Savannah is a city rich in history and beautiful architecture. Photographers have been capturing views of the city for the tourist trade and for commercial purposes since the beginning of photography. The Savannah College of Art and Design collects images of the city and environs in various forms such as stereographs, postcards, slides, and other formats. Images from several collections are presented here, providing a cross-section of time. The stereographs date from the 1870s, the cabinet cards from the 1880s, publications from the 1890s, postcards from the 1900s, and photographs and slides are more recent. The images have been divided into categories, such as Aerial Views, Churches, Downtown Buildings, Hotels, and Schools, for ease of discovery.

Images of Savannah

Artists' Book Collecting Areas

The artists' book collection is one we actively collect. Here in Special Collections, we strive to collect books made by or influenced by artists. In addition we also collect artists' books made by SCAD students and Faculty. We seek books created in innovative ways utlizing either traditional methods and materials or unexpected materials in ways that are not traditional at all.  Artists' books are often quite conceptual in design. They might be defined as books where the artist had a say in every aspect of the production from text (or lack of text), paper, binding techniques, printing, and illustration. A great portion of the book may have been created by hand or the artist may have had part of the book commercially prepared.  The result may be a truly unique book or a limited edition.  We have over 400 artists' books in our collection and that number continues to grow.  

 

Artists' Books in the SCAD Digital Image Database (DID)

Select artists' books housed in both the Jen Library  and SCAD Libraries - Atlanta Special Collections are available for viewing in the Digital Image Database. When specifically searching for artists' books in the DID please perform the following instructions.

 

  • Select at least two of the search fields to query by either making a selection from the 'Category' and 'Repository' sections.
  • In the 'Category' field select "Book Art"
  • In the 'Repository' field select "Jen" for Jen Library artists' book images only
  • In the 'Repository' field select "ACA" for Atlanta Library Library artists' book images only

 

The art press book or fine press book is usually a  beautifully made limited edition created by small press. Small presses may follow strict printing traditions or may be quite innovative. The small fine presses may create their own typefaces and paper, and utilize printing and binding techniques that produce books of exquisite quality.  The small press tradition is one started by William Morris and the Kelmscott Press in the late 19th century and continues today.  

Pop-up books and other books that utilize paper engineering may be commercially made or hand made, but the thought and planning is the result of artists and craftsmen engineering paper structures. Paper engineering has its roots in origami, but also may rely on glue, scissors, and sometimes string to make the paper object moveable.  Though it may seem like the perfect medium for children's books, the first moveable books were for adults and used to illustrate scientific principles.

Today, there is a lot of crossover between artists' books, fine press books, and books using paper engineering with zines and mini-comics. The intricately made mini-comic with elements of hand crafting or paper engineering may also be considered an artists' book.  The artist made book definition just keeps getting broader and more inclusive!

David Duncan Mini Comics Collection, MS 045

Collection Overview:  MS 045 includes mini-comics created as class projects by Professor David Duncan’s Sequential students and other works created by students, alumni, and SCAD affiliates collected by Professor Duncan. Included are individual works by artist, group projects, and class box set anthologies. The works range in date from 2006 to the present.  Also included in the Class projects are projects by two of Professor John Lowe’s classes. The collection is open and accepts ongoing donations.

To locate student mini comics search the library catalog by student's last name or stop by Special Collections and ask to see the Zine and Comic Collection. Look for our donation box at the SCAD Mini-comic expo every year!

 

Savannah College of Art and Design Digital Collections

The Savannah College of Art and Design Libraries are focal points for information, learning, and inspiration, offering both online and traditional image and text collections designed to meet research needs across many different disciplines in the arts. The Libraries serve both the SCAD community and the worldwide academic community through digitization projects that preserve and share scholarly resources. Libraries at SCAD-Atlanta and SCAD-Savannah contribute to these Digital Collections to create unique resources available to SCAD students around the globe.

Images from Life

Images of illustrations and advertisements from the original incarnation of Life magazine, which addressed issues of politics, fashion, society, religion, and literature. Many famous illustrators and authors were contributors to Life, including Charles Dana Gibson, Norman Rockwell, and Theodor Seuss Geisel.

Images from Life

Graduate Thesis Collection

This database houses the graduate thesis work completed at all SCAD locations from fall 2010 forward.

Graduate Thesis Collection

Don Bluth Collection of Animation

The Don Bluth Collection of Animation came to the Savannah College of Art and Design as a donation from Don Bluth and Gary Goldman in fall of 2005. The collection consists of cels, animation drawings, storyboards, color models, and other materials created by Don Bluth Productions and later incarnations of this company in the creation of animated features and video games between 1979 and 2000.

Don Bluth Collection of Animation

Splendore Dell' Antica Roma: The Splendors of Rome, Circa 1625

Rome in ancient times was the busy center of the Roman Empire, one of the largest empires of the ancient world. Almost from the beginning, it was a city of building projects and political struggle. A book in Special Collections, Splendore Dell' Antica Roma, engraved by Giacomo Lauro, is a great resource for the study of the city not only as the author found it in 1625, but also the rich legacy from ancient times.   Engraver Lauro illustrated ruins of Rome as well as reconstructions. He included secular buildings as well as religious structures, and also illustrated Roman customs, burial sites, and gardens. He even included several maps.

Here, the book is presented leaf-by-leaf. The records are shown in sets of two images: the Recto and Verso of each leaf. The book is not paginated, so leaf numbers have been assigned by the library.

Splendore Dell' Antica Roma: The Splendors of Rome, Circa 1625