by Virginia Seymour
Last Updated Feb 28, 2025
392 views this year
Ask A Librarian
Welcome!
Aks The Reflection Taj Mahal, Antrix3, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
About
The ARTH 289 - Indian Art and Architecture Course Guide provides access to library books, articles, and other resources for student research. Use the navigation tools on the left to locate resources, services, and tips.
Just getting started? These academic art dictionary and encyclopedias are great sources for trustworthy information when first researching an artist, a medium, or a time period.
An encyclopedic resource covering the history of art with an emphasis on western art.
Oxford Art Online is comprised of the Oxford Dictionary of Art, the Grove Encyclopedia of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art and includes an image library. This database provides peer-reviewed articles written by experts in the field to introduce key topics, themes, figures, and movements in the history of art. For help using Oxford Art Online, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Online art history textbook containing hundreds of videos, essays, and images of major periods, themes, and artists around the world from ancient to contemporary.
Interactive timeline of global art history illustrated by items in The Met's collection and accompanied by essays by experts.
The Metropolitan Museum of Arts Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met's collections. This platform is a reference, research, and teaching tool for students and scholars of art history. The timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, 8,000 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. Essays focus on specific themes in art history, including artistic movements and artists; historical and archaeological sites; empires and civilizations; recurrent themes and concepts; and media and material. Works of art from around the world and from all eras are contextualized chronologically, geographically, and thematically. Chronologies provide a linear outline of art history by geographical region and each include representative works of art, a timeline, an overview, and key events. Keywordscategorized by art movement, style, creator, geography, time period, material and technique, object, and subject matterfurther connect chronologies, essays, and works of art.
