Find Images - ARTH 347 - Great Masters' Materials and Techniques - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Using Images to Get Research Ideas

Not sure which artwork, object or artist to research? Get ideas by browsing categories or starting with an advanced search in the image databases.

Identify a general place and time period to start with.
Refine results further by selecting specific kinds of art or choosing a more specific place (e.g., Italy instead of Europe)
Mine information within the image record for additional keywords - specific artwork or place names, artists, etc.
Repeat the process in the image databases, or proceed to article and book searches.

Image Search Tips

Search tips!

Don't end your search at Google Images - but it can be a good starting point.
Use a library image database.
- These will have high-quality images that will look good in your presentations, and come from verifiable sources.
Which museum or collections own the artwork you're studying?
- You can sometimes find this information in Wikipedia. Use it wisely!
- Look at the museum's website.
  - Look for pages or links like "image collections," "online collections," or "digital library"
Search artist's name and the phrase "catalogue raisonné" in SCAD Libraries.
- Catalogues raisonnés are comprehensive listings of all known works by an artist, and might include images or tell you which museum or collection owns the work.

Download High Quality Images Here

We recommend these image databases:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Digital Image Database This link opens in a new window
Image database maintained by the SCAD Visual Resources Center. DID contains a custom array of digitized images for the SCAD community.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Getty Search Gateway

The Getty Open Content Program
Currently, there are more than 99,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program, including more than 72,000 photographs of the art and architecture of Italy by Max Hutzel (1913–1988). Other images include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.

ARTH 347 - Great Masters' Materials and Techniques: Find Images

Using Images to Get Research Ideas

Image Search Tips

Download High Quality Images Here

Getty Search Gateway