Find Images

Use the recommended resources on this page to find high-quality art images.

Pair of Woven Beadwork Garters with Red Wool Tassels, Southeastern Ojibwa, JSTOR

Download High Quality Images Here

We recommend these image databases:

JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Digital Image Database
Image database maintained by the SCAD Visual Resources Center. DID contains a custom array of digitized images for the SCAD community.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Links to online cultural collections, professional and government organizations, and other sites of interest.

Native American Heritage Month - Images
This website lists resources and events related to Native American Heritage Month, held in November.
Library of Congress - Free to Use and Reuse: Native American Heritage
Selected images represent the historical experiences and achievements of indigenous peoples across North America. A formal celebration of Native American heritage occurs each year in the United States in November. Unless otherwise noted, the images here are from the Prints & Photographs Division.

Chieftains Museum
The Chieftains Museum/Major Ridge Home is one of only a few private entities to be certified by the National Park Service as a site on the Trail of Tears.
Thaw Collection of American Indian Art - Fenimore Art Museum
Home to almost 850 items of American Indian Art.
Museum of Contemporary Native Arts
The Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA), a center of the Institute of American Indian Arts (IAIA), organizes exhibitions devoted exclusively to the display of dynamic and diverse arts practices representative of Native North America.
Museum of Indian Arts and Culture
One of four museums in the Museum of New Mexico system, is a premier repository of Native art and material culture of the Southwest from pre-history through contemporary art.
The Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian
Formerly the Museum of Navajo Ceremonial Art, the Wheelwright Museum houses collections that document Navajo art and culture from 1850 to the present. It also presents changing exhibitions on traditional and contemporary Navajo and other Native American arts.
Native American Heritage at the Minneapolis Institute of Art
The Minneapolis Institute of Art museum resides on Dakota Makoce, the homelands of the Dakota people and their Anishinaabe and Ho-Chunk neighbors.

Mia is a proud and long-standing supporter of Native art and the Native community. The museum opened a gallery devoted to Native American art in 1988, and over the decades this space has been expanded to three galleries.