Find Articles - ARTH 356 - Digital Art and Culture - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Search Now

Classic Catalog

Recommended Periodicals

The New York Times (online via Lexis Nexis)
1980-present online in Lexis Nexis, and the most current copies in print.
ArtForum International (print)
1962-present in print. Search for specific articles via ArtBibliographies Modern database (right).
October (online via MIT press journals)
2001- present online via MIT press journals. Articles 1997 - 2013 will also show up in Art Source searches.

Search Tips!

Don't...

Type your full thesis statement or research question into a search box.

Do...

Use keywords (or specific, important terms)
- Example topic: the influences of the Medici family on art and architecture in Florence
- Try these keywords: Medici AND art AND Florence
Use search limiters
- Databases have ways to narrow your search - look for a left or right sidebar to see options

Recommended Research Databases

Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
ProQuest database containing abstracts of academic and professional articles on modern art and architecture.
ARTbibliographies Modern contains abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, Ph.D. dissertations, and exhibition reviews with thousands added yearly. The database includes subjects in the arts, including performance art, installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramics, glass art, graphic design, exhibition design, fashion, and calligraphy as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. For more information about using ARTbibliographies Modern, visit Proquest.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database covering the entirety of television and film history and subjects with full-text articles, images, reviews, and bibliographic information.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes bibliographic information and full-text articles covering the entirety of television and film. The database contains more than 160 full-text journals and books plus cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 journals. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation, restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, and technical aspects. Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive are also made available through the Film & Television Literature Index. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Rhizome This link opens in a new window
Online archive of born-digital art and culture.
Rhizome, affiliated with the New Museum, includes ArtBase which documents new media artworks. The site also publishes blog posts, job announcements, and other opportunities to engage with new media art. For help using Rhizome, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Accessing Full Text

When using a database, look for PDF links.

In Catalog+, clicking the title of an article may take you directly to the article. If a catalog record appears instead, look for the green Article link. Click to access the article. There may be multiple options for access in different databases.

If no online options exist at SCAD, search the publication's title in journal title search to see if it is available in print.

No digital OR print options for your article? Not sure how to find a printed article on the shelf? Experiencing technical issues/broken links? Ask A Librarian!

Other Publications

Media Art Histories Archive
Digital repository of the field of scholarship examining the Histories of Media Art, Science and Technology. Archive Goals :: world wide access - creating a place for media art classics, cross-pollinated, cutting-edge scholarship, rich metadata - all items regulated by authors.
Archive of Digital Art
As a pioneer in the field of Media Arts research, the ARCHIVE OF DIGITAL ART (ADA) has documented the rapidly evolving field of digital art since 1999. This research-oriented overview of works at the intersection of art, science, and technology has been developed in cooperation with international media artists, researchers and institutions as a collective project.

Search Strategies

Customize your search to improve results.
HINT: This is where brainstorming a list of keywords related to your topic comes in handy!

“ ” Group keywords with quotation marks to search as an exact phrase.
Example: “the night watchman”

* Use the asterisk if you want to search multiple iterations of a keyword.
Example: sculpt* = sculpture, sculptors, sculpted

& Use AND to combine several keywords or phrases.
Example: "Ai Wei Wei" AND installation

+ Use OR to search for information about one term, and also articles about another term.
Example: sustainable OR eco-friendly

- Use NOT to search for information about one term, while excluding another term
Example: Michaelangelo NOT turtle

Advanced Search features make it easy to narrow a large result list. For example:

Subject links limit results to a specific topic or discipline

Specify a publication date range

Search within the title of an article, the summary or the entire text

ARTH 356 - Digital Art and Culture: Find Articles