These will have high-quality images that will be well-suited for presentations, and come from verifiable sources.
Find the museum or collections that own a certain artwork or style of art.
This information is sometimes found in Wikipedia or in JSTOR.
Look for pages or links like "image collections," "online collections," or "digital library" on the institutions website.
Search an artist's name and the phrase "catalogue raisonné" in SCAD Libraries.
Catalogues raisonnés are comprehensive listings of all known works by an artist, and might include images, and which museum or collection owns the work.
Find Images
The Three Ages of Humans, Dosso Dossi (Giovanni de Lutero), ca. 1486-1541, The Met
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Image database maintained by the SCAD Visual Resources Center. DID contains a custom array of digitized images for the SCAD community.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Online hub for digitized content, such as ebooks, music, and artwork from thousands of European cultural institutions.
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries, and museums to share cultural heritage resources for enjoyment, education, and research purposes. Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks, and more with easy-to-use search and filter tools. For more information about using Europeana, visit Europeana Help.
Interactive timeline of global art history illustrated by items in The Met's collection and accompanied by essays by experts.
The Metropolitan Museum of Arts Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met's collections. This platform is a reference, research, and teaching tool for students and scholars of art history. The timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, 8,000 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. Essays focus on specific themes in art history, including artistic movements and artists; historical and archaeological sites; empires and civilizations; recurrent themes and concepts; and media and material. Works of art from around the world and from all eras are contextualized chronologically, geographically, and thematically. Chronologies provide a linear outline of art history by geographical region and each include representative works of art, a timeline, an overview, and key events. Keywordscategorized by art movement, style, creator, geography, time period, material and technique, object, and subject matterfurther connect chronologies, essays, and works of art.
