African & Asian Visual Artists ArchiveThe most comprehensive slide archive of contemporary visual art by artists of African and Asian descent working in the UK since the post-war period.
ArchnetArchnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality.
AP ImagesAP Images is the world's largest collection of historical and contemporary photos.
BildenexDatabase of art and architecture from collections in thirteen European countries, many from German institutions.
Bridgeman ImagesThe world's leading specialists in the distribution of fine art, cultural and historical media for reproduction
CalisphereCalisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 1,175,000 images, texts, and recordings—and counting.
Cities and Buildings DatabaseA collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web.
Contemporary Art LibraryThe mission of Contemporary Art Library is to organize, preserve, and make accessible the art history of our time.
Deutsche FotothekA virtual showroom for the works of distinguished photographers in Germany.
Europeana CollectionsExplore 58,059,677 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
Getty Research Institute ImagesFind selected digitized materials from the Research Institute's collection that are free to view and download. Materials include over 2.5 million digital images of rare and public domain books, photographs, prints, manuscripts, sketchbooks, and archives.
Great Buildings CollectionOne thousand selected classics of world architecture, and hundreds of their great designers, in the leading general architecture reference site.
VADSVADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA).
Find Images
Use the recommended resources on this page to find high-quality art images.
Museum of Contemporary Art Entrance, Richie Diesterheft from Santa Barbara, CA, USA, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Image database maintained by the SCAD Visual Resources Center. DID contains a custom array of digitized images for the SCAD community.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Rhizome, affiliated with the New Museum, includes ArtBase which documents new media artworks. The site also publishes blog posts, job announcements, and other opportunities to engage with new media art. For help using Rhizome, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Website for discovering both historical and contemporary art images of art, architecture, and design from around the world.
Artsy features the worlds leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artists estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place. The site contains over one million works of art, architecture, and design by 100,000 artists spanning historical, modern, and contemporary works, including the largest online collection of contemporary art. Artsy also draws connections and maps relationships among works of art, artists, and periods.
Independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. Works are available for educational, noncommercial use only.
Image Citation
Should I cite images?
Yes! In addition to citing written sources (like articles and books), it's good practice to cite image sources as well.
How do I cite images?
The handout below, developed by the Writers' Studio, provides guidelines for image citation that are widely accepted at SCAD. The style manuals for APA, MLA, Chicago and Turabian styles can also be consulted regarding image citation.
.jpg){kind=link}