Historical & Cultural Research for Production Design - PROD 103 - Introduction to Entertainment Design - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Search Tips

Conducting cultural or historical research? Use these trusted resources!

When searching, try broad searches then filter by time and place.

You can also browse these sites by navigating around the pre-made collections and categories.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia addressing fashion, dress and textiles from a wide range of cultures and time periods.
Berg Fashion Library is a leading academic source providing reference entries, images, and ebooks for fashion, textiles, and cultural studies research. For help navigating Berg Fashion Library, visit How to Use.

Fashion History Timeline | F.I.T.
The Fashion History Timeline is a project by FIT's History of Art Department. The Timeline offers scholarly contributions to the public knowledge of the history of costume, dress, and textiles.

Metropolitan Museum of Art Collections
Cultural content from around the world, including one of the largest collections of costume and dress in the United States.
V&A Collections
Museum collections covering centuries of cultural history, including art, fashion, decorative arts, interiors and more.
The Museum at F.I.T.
The Museum is aggressively building its permanent collection, focusing on "directional" fashion, i.e., the kind of fashion that makes fashion history. The permanent collection of The Museum at FIT currently includes more than 50,000 garments and accessories, dating from the 18th century to the present, with particular strength in modern and contemporary women's fashion.
Chicago History Museum
With more than 50,000 costumes and textiles dating from the eighteenth century to the present, the Museum’s world-renowned Costume and Textiles collection is noted for both its size and the quality of its holdings.