Corporate Finance by
Merging theory and practice into a comprehensive, highly-anticipated text Corporate Finance continues its legacy as one of the most popular financial textbooks, with well-established content from a diverse and highly respected author team. Unique in its features, this valuable text blends theory and practice with a direct, succinct style and commonsense presentation. Readers will be introduced to concepts in a situational framework, followed by a detailed discussion of techniques and tools. This latest edition includes new information on venture finance and debt structuring, and has been updated throughout with the most recent statistical tables. The companion website provides statistics, graphs, charts, articles, computer models, and classroom tools, and the free monthly newsletter keeps readers up to date on the latest happenings in the field. The authors have generously made themselves available for questions, promising an answer in seventy-two hours. Emphasizing how key concepts relate to real-world situations is what makes Corporate Finance a valuable reference with real relevance to the professional and student alike. Readers will gain insight into the methods and tools that shape the industry, allowing them to: Analyze investments with regard to hurdle rates, cash flows, side costs, and more Delve into the financing process and learn the tools and techniques of valuation Understand cash dividends and buybacks, spinoffs, and divestitures Explore the link between valuation and corporate finance As the global economy begins to recover, access to the most current information and statistics will be required. To remain relevant in the evolving financial environment, practitioners will need a deep understanding of the mechanisms at work. Corporate Finance provides the expert guidance and detailed explanations for those requiring a strong foundational knowledge, as well as more advanced corporate finance professionals.
Harvard Business Review Entrepreneur's Handbook by
The one primer you need to develop your entrepreneurial skills. Whether you're imagining your new business to be the next big thing in Silicon Valley, a pivotal B2B provider, or an anchor in your local community, the HBR Entrepreneur's Handbook is your essential resource for getting your company off the ground. Starting an independent new business is rife with both opportunity and risk. And as an entrepreneur, you're the one in charge: your actions can make or break your business. You need to know the tried-and-true fundamentals--from writing a business plan to getting your first loan. You also need to know the latest thinking on how to create an irresistible pitch deck, mitigate risk through experimentation, and develop unique opportunities through business model innovation. The HBR Entrepreneur's Handbook addresses these challenges and more with practical advice and wisdom from Harvard Business Review's archive. Keep this comprehensive guide with you throughout your startup's life--and increase your business's odds for success. In the HBR Entrepreneur's Handbook you'll find: Step-by-step guidance through the entrepreneurial process Concise explanations of the latest research and thinking on entrepreneurship from Harvard Business Review contributors such as Marc Andreessen and Reid Hoffman Time-honed best practices Stories of real companies, from Airbnb to eBay You'll learn: Which skills and characteristics make for the best entrepreneurs How to gauge potential opportunities The basics of business models and competitive strategy How to test your assumptions--before you build a whole business How to select the right legal structure for your company How to navigate funding options, from venture capital and angel investors to accelerators and crowdfunding How to develop sales and marketing programs for your venture What entrepreneurial leaders must do to build culture and set direction as the business keeps growing HBR Handbooks provide ambitious professionals with the frameworks, advice, and tools they need to excel in their careers. With step-by-step guidance, time-honed best practices, real-life stories, and concise explanations of research published in Harvard Business Review, each comprehensive volume helps you to stand out from the pack--whatever your role.
Venture Capital and the Financing of Innovation by
The funding of innovative projects that are fundamentally ambiguous often leads to situations where decision-making is difficult. However, decision-making can be improved by practices such as syndication and step-by-step funding. The dynamic of this industry requires us to consider the economic and institutional variables that make this system coherent in English-speaking countries, but conversely reduce it to a privileged niche by the leading authorities in Europe and France. This book proposes two guiding ideas. The first idea presents innovation as a very uncertain process. This modifies the decision-making in the entrepreneurial ecosystem, with intervention upstream in regards to stronger foundations, evaluations and selection of projects. The second idea is that the actors hold onto partial knowledge in a context where their attention span is limited. These cognitive limitations need the formation of networks, and lead to mutual and complementary dependency relations.
When planning a new business, last on the list of things to do is secure funding and create a financial plan. How are you going to structure your new venture? Where are you going to go for a loan?