Historic, Technical and Background Information - FASH 105 - Introduction to Textiles - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Library Catalog

Browsing for books and articles? Search Catalog+ to find a variety of resources all in one place:

Looking for a specific book title or author? Search the Classic Catalog below:

All of these are located in Reference: 1st floor, near the computer labs. They can be used in the library.

The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory
Call Number: TS1309 .B34 2011
Guide to fabrics' properties. characteristics, and garment design potential.
Fairchild's dictionary of textiles
Call Number: TS 1309 .F34 1996
Fabric Reference by Mary Humphries
Call Number: TS1445 .H85 2009

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia addressing fashion, dress and textiles from a wide range of cultures and time periods.
Berg Fashion Library is a leading academic source providing reference entries, images, and ebooks for fashion, textiles, and cultural studies research. For help navigating Berg Fashion Library, visit How to Use.

eBook Collection (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Ebook collection covering a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, history, science, literature, and more.
EBSCO's multidisciplinary eBook Collection includes thousands of ebooks covering a large selection of academic subjects from leading publishers. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of millions of books that can be browsed, searched, and previewed online.
Google Books provides abstracts, reviews, and previews of millions of books, including many public domain books that may be downloaded for free. Use "find in a library" links to check a book's availability at SCAD and libraries near you.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Website hosting archived webpages, digitized books, and other media available for download.
The Internet Archives includes the Wayback Machine, which archives past versions of websites, as well as millions of books, texts, audio recordings, live concerts, videos, images, and software programs.
O'Reilly Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook and video library covering a wide range of technology topics including digital media, software, programming, web applications, business, and professional development.
For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

These books are available in the Special Collections department (in-library use only) and are an excellent resource for research on natural fibers.

(Note that Special Collections is open 8-5, M-F, so plan accordingly.)

All about Silk by Julie Parker
Call Number: TS 1665 .P37 1992
ISBN: 9780963761200
All About Cotton by Julie Parker
Call Number: TS 1582 .P37 1991
ISBN: 9780963761231
All about Wool by Julie Parker (Illustrator)
Call Number: TS1625 .P37 1996
ISBN: 9780963761224
Publication Date: 1996-04-01