Consumer and Marketing Info - FASH 763 - Fashion Promotion - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

City and Neighborhood-Specific Research

Generally, city specific information is not complied in research reports in the library's collections. Here are some alternative tips to research a location:

First, gather essential facts such as: name of the neighborhood; names of key streets; zip or postal codes; other stores (especially competitors) located nearby. These can be used as search words to narrow or expand your research.
Search the web for a local business bureau or chamber of commerce. These organizations will often provide data that is used to attract business to a region, city or neighborhood. Contact them for more info, if necessary
Identify newspapers local to your chosen location and look for articles about recent business developments. The library's database, Nexis Uni provides current U.S. and international newspaper articles. For major fashion hubs, a search of WWD or BoF may also be useful.

Foot traffic research:

Google search the nearby businesses to see popular traffic times (shows up in the Google results sidebar, and in Google Map searches). This does not tell how many people are visiting, but explains the times that they visit.
Browse the area in location-specific apps/sites like Yelp and Foursquare to get a sense of how many people are "checking in" at the local sites and stores. It can lend clues as to which places are most popular in a certain location, and why.

Explore Census Data

Explore Census Data
Population, housing, economic, and geographic information

Online Trend Resource: WGSN

WGSN
Trend forecasting platform that provides industry and trade show reports as well as trends, forecasting, consumer profiles, and market intelligence across the following sector channels: Fashion, Beauty, Interiors, Consumer Tech, and City by City.

WGSN - How-To
Learn how to create or re-activate a WGSN personal account in order to access the full array of WGSN features.

Passport (Euromonitor) - Consumer Information

Passport (Euromonitor International)
Passport by Euromonitor International is a global market research database that provides industry data, country reports, and global reports as well as articles, statistics, and presentations about strategies, markets, companies, and trends.
Euromonitor International contains market analysis, distribution patterns, and sales forecasts. The platform provides detailed, in-depth analytic reports for both developed and emerging national markets as well as insights into consumer preferences and global market performance. This database includes information on national, company, and brand markets in addition to profiles of the top international companies in each industry. Beyond reports, Euromonitor provides articles and presentations on key themes and discussion topics.

To get consumer information from Euromonitor:

Use the "Find Analysis" box on the home page

Select "economies and consumers"

Then select the topic "consumer trends and lifestyles" and geography (country/region) and click "GO"

On the results page, use the sidebar to narrow even further, then click any link to see a report, video, or other kinds of info.

You can also use the search box on the Europmonitor homepage for specific consumer segments or profiles, e.g. millennials

WARC

A marketing and advertising database with lots of information about companies, industries, markets and trends.

CASE STUDIES: Key examples of marketing campaigns and analysis of their effectiveness.
TOPICS: Explore industry and company insights.
TRENDS: Explore consumer, marketing and other trends.
NEWS: Locate short news pieces.

WARC
Database of research, case studies, and business intelligence in advertising and marketing from the United States and other major global markets.
WARC provides business intelligence, reports, case studies, news briefings, and more. WARCs industry, category, and consumer insights and best practices are used by advertising agencies and marketing professionals to optimize their operations for brand-building and effectiveness. The database provides access to over 18,000 case studies, the latest research from across the marketing industry, and best practice from leaders in marketing. For help using WARC, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Windows Wear Pro

WindowsWear
Visual database of retail and e-commerce displays as well as packaging and merchandising content. In addition to traditional retail displays, Windowswear emphasizes digital and social media marketing.
Windows Wear is the worlds largest and most comprehensive platform of its kind, containing best-in-class visual merchandising, retail design, window displays, product packaging, e-commerce, and more for the hottest global brands. Search email marketing, Facebook ads, Instagram Stories, window displays, and retail interiors by brand, mentions, time period, and more.