Find Images

Image Search Tips

Google Images is an excellent starting point for exploratory research, but be sure to expand the search further!

Use a SCAD Libraries recommended Image Database.
- These will have high-quality images that will be well-suited for presentations, and come from verifiable sources.
Find the museum or collections that own a certain artwork or style of art.
- This information is sometimes found in Wikipedia or in JSTOR.
- Look for pages or links like "image collections," "online collections," or "digital library" on the institutions website.
Search an artist's name and the phrase "catalogue raisonné" in SCAD Libraries.
- Catalogues raisonnés are comprehensive listings of all known works by an artist, and might include images, and which museum or collection owns the work.

Fashion Images & Copyright

Fashion and Intellectual Property 'Best Practice' Guidelines

Making a mood board or fashion blog? Learn how copyright and intellectual property rights affect the use of fashion images with guidelines created by Europeana Fashion and the V & A Museum.

Download High Quality Images Here

We recommend these image databases:

JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Digital Image Database
Image database maintained by the SCAD Visual Resources Center. DID contains a custom array of digitized images for the SCAD community.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Berg Fashion Library

Berg Fashion Library
Encyclopedia addressing fashion, dress and textiles from a wide range of cultures and time periods.
Berg Fashion Library is a leading academic source providing reference entries, images, and ebooks for fashion, textiles, and cultural studies research. For help navigating Berg Fashion Library, visit How to Use.

Online Trend Resource: WGSN

WGSN
Trend forecasting platform that provides industry and trade show reports as well as trends, forecasting, consumer profiles, and market intelligence across the following sector channels: Fashion, Beauty, Interiors, Consumer Tech, and City by City.

WGSN - How-To
Learn how to create or re-activate a WGSN personal account in order to access the full array of WGSN features.

MET Costume Institute

The MET Costume Institute
Images of costumes and accessories from the fifteenth century to the present. The MET allows use of their images for "limited non-commercial, educational, and personal use only." For more information visit the MET's Terms of Use webpage: (http://www.metmuseum.org/information/terms-and-conditions)
Search the (Costume Institute) Collections
Advanced search options within the Costume Institute collections, including who, what, where & when.

Victoria & Albert Museum - Fashion

Victoria & Albert Museum - Fashion
Features historical and contemporary fashion images. The V&A allows use of their images for "For educational use: this means the one-time use of Content by a student at an Educational Establishment." For more information, visit the V&A Terms of Use webpage: (http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/articles/t/terms-and-conditions/)
V&A - Search the Collections
Advanced search options e.g by Object name/Title, Artist/maker or Material/techniques

Vogue Fashion Archive

Vogue Archive
Archive of American Vogue magazine, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images that are completely indexed and searchable.

Women's Wear Daily (WWD)

Women's Wear Daily
Online magazine providing fashion business news and women's fashion trends for industry professionals.

Women's Wear Daily (WWD) includes fashion news, history, business insights, and more for women's fashion and the global fashion industry. Articles, videos, and images are added daily, offering trustworthy, up-to-date information for designers, marketers, retailers, and other industry professionals. For help using Women's Wear Daily, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to the current year, reproduced in high-resolution images.
The Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the fashion and retail publication Womens Wear Daily (WWD). This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for fashion, business, and history. Scans of every page are included in high-resolution, with searchable text and indexing for each article, advertisement, and cover. Take research deeper by cross-searching with other the Vogue Archive, arts indexes, historical periodicals, and newspapers in other ProQuest databases. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

WWD - Print Edition
Printed copies of WWD are available at the Jen Library, from 1990 to present

Museum Resources

Looking for more historical clothing, furniture, or architecture? Many museums display these artifacts online, including: