Research Guides: Furniture Design : Databases

Essential Databases for Furniture Design

Art and Architecture Source
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Building Green
Online platform providing comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials.
BuildingGreen is a trusted online source on healthy and sustainable design and construction strategies. BuildingGreen shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field and provides context and criteria for sustainable design strategies. Readers of BuildingGreen.com enjoy daily news coverage and deeper analysis of strategies, policies, and programs in addition to information about green products and materials. For more information about using BuildingGreen, visit: BuildingGreen FAQs.
WGSN
Trend forecasting platform that provides industry and trade show reports as well as trends, forecasting, consumer profiles, and market intelligence across the following sector channels: Fashion, Beauty, Interiors, Consumer Tech, and City by City.

Additional Databases for Furniture Design

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
ProQuest index of scholarly and professional articles from design and craft publications.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) indexes journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items from 1973 to the present. Topics covered by DAAI include product, retail, industrial, package, book, textile, furniture, jewelry, fashion, graphic and interior design as well as ceramics, illustration, typography, architecture, advertising, animation, and much more. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Nexis Uni
Database of newspaper articles, magazine articles, legal documents, and company financial information from around the world.
Nexus Uni provides both historical and current news from publications around the world. U.S. government, legal, and financial documents are also available through Nexus Uni. The platform can be searched in a variety of ways, including by keyword, publication, and time period. For help using Nexus Uni, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Panjiva
Website with material and product sourcing information for a variety of industries across the globe. Currently only available to on-campus users.
Panjiva provides a platform to research suppliers and buyers as well as gain commercial product, shipment, and import/export data. For more information about Panjiva, view recorded tutorials and handouts at the Panjiva Support Center.