Research Guides: Inclusion Resources for Art and Design Research: Journals &amp; Databases

Suggested Journals

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier contains over 4,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers. This multidisciplinary research database covers a variety of disciplines, including engineering, physics, psychology, religion, philosophy, science and technology, education, humanities, civics, and history as well as the physical sciences. This database provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, videos from the Associated Press, and primary source documents pertaining to government and law. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Asia Art Archive This link opens in a new window
Asia Art Archive (AAA) collection includes the personal archives of significant artists, educators, and art professionals as well as documentation of AAA exhibitions. The database continually adds research, acquisitions, and digitized content. AAA's website catalogs material housed in the library's physical collection, which includes reference books, monographs, exhibition catalogues, periodicals, and rare ephemeral materials.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes weekly reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy with statistics, pro/con positions, references, and bibliographies. For more information on using CQ Researcher, see this overview.
Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
Discovering American Women's History Online, maintained by Walker Library at Middle Tennessee State Univeristy, provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. This database features detailed descriptions and links for more than 700 digital collections and an interactive map with more than 500 points of interest.
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries, and museums to share cultural heritage resources for enjoyment, education, and research purposes. Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks, and more with easy-to-use search and filter tools. For more information about using Europeana, visit Europeana Help.
Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
Google Arts & Culture collects high-quality media from partner museums and archives around the world, including artworks, interpretive videos, and 360-degree experiences of cultural sites. This database features content from over 2,000 leading institutions who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to bring the world's museums, archives, and cultural sites to a single virtual home.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Trove This link opens in a new window
Trove, an initiative of the National Library of Australia, is a platform for the exploration of diverse collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries, and archives. Search for digital copies of newspapers, Government Gazettes, maps, magazines, and newsletters. Also included are books, visual material, archived websites, music, and interviews. Letters, diaries, and personal archives of famous Australians is also included in Trove's online collections. To learn more about using Trove, visit Collection Features.