Research, Write, Rewrite: Crafting Excellent Essays from Brainstorming to Revision
Thursday, August 11 @ 10:30AM EDT (Zoom Link)
This workshop, co-led by the SCAD Library and the Writers’ Studio, provides students of any year or program the opportunity to discuss and review their quarterly research projects. Students will gain skills and support at any stage of the research and essay writing process.
Faculty Refresh: New & Notable at SCAD Libraries
Friday, August 19 @ 10AM EDT (Zoom Link)
This workshop is being offered to faculty members who want to leverage library resources in their classes. The session will explore resources, services, and updates from SCAD Libraries, demonstrating how faculty and their students can take advantage of the resources. Attendees will have the opportunity to ask questions and discuss specific course needs with library staff.
Virtual Library Tour
Friday, June 24 @ 1:30PM EDT
Monday, June 27 @ 6PM EDT
Get an inside look at all that SCAD Libraries have to offer. Join the library staff to explore the myriad resources and services available for students throughout this quarter and beyond.
Digital Preservation: Protecting your Work for the Long-haul
Wednesday, July 13 @ 4PM EDT (Recording)
Join SCAD MoA and SCAD Libraries’ staff to learn about preserving born-digital work for the future. Attendees will learn about the importance of digital preservation and how it can help born-digital media remain accessible when current digital platforms evolve or fade away.
Speed Date-abases: Images
Wednesday, July 20 @ 2PM EDT (Recording)
This workshop will introduce participants to five image databases for research of all kinds. Join a SCAD Librarian to discover databases that match a variety of research needs from creative projects to academic presentations. Attend this session to meet the SCAD Libraries’ databases!
LinkedIn and SCAD Libraries: Powerful Research Tools for Accessing Industry Networks
Friday, July 29 @ 3PM EDT (Zoom Link)
Thursday, August 4 @ 11AM EDT (Zoom Link)
Join CAS and SCAD Libraries to learn how to use LinkedIn and powerful research databases to identify and connect with companies and professionals in any industry. During this session, participants will develop important research strategies for creating a professional roadmap and discovering opportunities in their field.
The Ten-Minute Book
Friday, August 5 @ 1PM EDT
SCAD Library, Atlanta
In this workshop, participants will have the opportunity to create a mock-up, zine, or artist book within a ten-minute time frame using only materials found within the library for inspiration. The ten-minute book project will introduce attendees to research techniques and the process of developing creative works with only the resources available.
Supplies will be provided.
► Virtual ► Atlanta ► Savannah
Virtual Library Tour ►
Virtual: Friday, September 16th @ 11 AM EDT (Zoom Link)
Virtual: Friday, September 23rd @ 1 PM EDT (Zoom Link)
Get an inside look at all that SCAD Libraries have to offer. Join the library staff to uncover the myriad of resources and services available for students throughout the fall quarter and beyond.
Library Open House ►
In-person, Atlanta: Friday, September 23rd @ 2-3 PM EDT (SCAD Library, Atlanta)
Drop by the SCAD Library to learn about the full range of library resources and services offered to enhance research and creative projects. Library staff will be on hand to suggest print and electronic resources related to all SCAD majors and show students how to take full advantage of the many student-focused services the library offers.
Graduate Research & Writing: Best Practices for Success ►►
Virtual: Wednesday, September 28th @ 6 PM EDT (Zoom Link)
In-person, Savannah: Wednesday, September 28th @ 6 PM EDT (Ruskin 205)
Explore strategies and resources for success in this graduate-level workshop presented by The Writers' Studio and SCAD Libraries. Discussion will include standards for graduate research, identifying valid sources, ethical source use, and writing strategies.
Thesis Writing and Research Information Session ►
Virtual: Friday, September 30th @ 2 PM EDT (Zoom Link)
Join staff from graduate advising, SCAD Libraries, and The Writers' Studio to learn more about thesis planning and the valuable resources and services available to assist students through the advisement, research, and writing process.
Database Discovery Series ►
Building Green – Join an expert company representative from Building Green to discover what makes this database the leading resource for building professionals seeking information about sustainable and environmentally-oriented design. Participants will learn techniques, tricks, and tools for leveraging this resource and will have the opportunity to participate in a Q&A session following the presentation.
Virtual: Wednesday, October 5th @ 11 AM EDT (Zoom Link)
Internet Archive – Join SCAD Libraries to discover what makes the Internet Archive the largest, most accessed online repository of digital cultural artifacts. Participants will explore everything from animation clips to legacy software to digitized books and leave with techniques, tricks, and tools for leveraging this resource.
Virtual: Wednesday, October 19th @ 11 AM EDT (Zoom Link)
Advanced Search Techniques ►
Virtual: Friday, October 7th @ 1 PM EDT (Zoom Link)
Take database searching to the next level with advanced search skills and techniques that will connect you to the perfect resources. Join SCAD Librarians to explore tools like Boolean operators, controlled vocabularies, citation chasing, and more.
Inspiration: Mine the Archive ►►
In-person, Atlanta: Friday, October 14th @ 1 PM–3 PM EST (SCAD Library, Atlanta, Artists’ Books Room)
In-person, Savannah: Friday, November 11th @ 11 AM–1 PM EST (Jen Library, Pei Ling Chan Reading Room)
Explore inspiration and make unexpected discoveries during this Archives and Special Collections open house. Browse popular collections like the Don Bluth Collection of Animation in Savannah and the artists’ books collection in Atlanta. Discover something new in the rich manuscript and special material collections available to SCAD students, staff, and faculty.
Research Roundtable: Nuance and Specialized Research ►
Virtual: Friday, October 21st @ 1 PM EDT (Zoom Link)
This roundtable will discuss the research process from a variety of perspectives and disciplines at SCAD. The research process becomes more nuanced and specialized with increased exposure to specific disciplines, and this roundtable will explore how the processes and research strategies differ across creative fields.
Research and Create: Zine Culture and SCAD Library Collections ►
In-person: Friday, October 21st @ 1 PM EDT (SCAD Library, Atlanta, 413)
Join SCAD Library Atlanta for a hands-on zine workshop! Participants will use library resources to research a topic or theme of interest, explore our zine collection for inspiration, and produce a zine to share with others. Materials will be provided.
Open Sketch in the Library ►►
In-person, Savannah: Friday, October 28th @ 1 PM EDT (Jen Library, 2nd floor)
In-person, Atlanta: Friday, October 28th @ 1 PM EDT (SCAD Library, Atlanta)
Take a sketch break at the library! Library staff will pull a wide range of books from SCAD Libraries' collections for drawing inspiration and will provide drawing supplies. After the event, participants’ sketches will be displayed alongside inspirational books.
Retro Gamer: Let’s Surf the Web ►
Virtual: Wednesday, November 2nd @ 4 PM EDT (Zoom Link)
Travel back in time to explore gaming’s greatest hits and deep cuts. Attendees will tour a selection of obscure web resources related to vintage video games and are encouraged to share their favorite places to geek out over video games. This workshop is the place to find inspiration and community around retro games.
Research & Writing "Drop-In": Crafting Excellent Essays from Brainstorming to Revision ►
In-person: Thursday, November 3rd @ 10:30 AM EDT (SCAD Library, Atlanta, 413)
This drop-in session, co-led by SCAD Libraries and the Writers’ Studio, provides students of any year or program with the opportunity to discuss and review their quarterly research projects.