Online platform providing comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials.
BuildingGreen is a trusted online source on healthy and sustainable design and construction strategies. BuildingGreen shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field and provides context and criteria for sustainable design strategies. Readers of BuildingGreen.com enjoy daily news coverage and deeper analysis of strategies, policies, and programs in addition to information about green products and materials. For more information about using BuildingGreen, visit: BuildingGreen FAQs.
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
ProQuest index of scholarly and professional articles from design and craft publications.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) indexes journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items from 1973 to the present. Topics covered by DAAI include product, retail, industrial, package, book, textile, furniture, jewelry, fashion, graphic and interior design as well as ceramics, illustration, typography, architecture, advertising, animation, and much more. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Online resource for apparel and textile professionals focused on sourcing and manufacturing.
Sourcing Journal is the premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing and manufacturing. Sourcing Journal knows that intelligent business decisions are based on strategic, time-sensitive information. This database contains fashion business news, apparel, denim, footwear, and textile reports, webinars, podcasts, market, material, industry, and sourcing data.
Database of open access, peer-reviewed articles on science topics available to read, download, and reuse.
ScienceDirect has over 1.2 million open access articles made freely available to the public. Topics include physical sciences and engineering; life and health sciences; and social sciences and humanitites. For more information about using ScienceDirect, visit the ScienceDirect Support Center.
Online encyclopedia that aggregates open access biology and biodiversity knowledge and connects users to other information at other trusted natural science institutions.
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) works with open access biodiversity knowledge providers around the world, including museums, libraries, universities, research centers, individual scientists, graduate students, citizen science communities, and international open data hubs. Scientists and other observers generate data, photos, videos, and descriptive text that are then digitized by bioinformaticists and technicians. A unique feature of EOL is relationship maps connecting individual flora and fauna to other entries with shared habitats and food chain relationships. EOL receives information from many sources that EOL then formats and annotates so that integrated search tools can easily locate similar content from different sources, such as the Smithsonian Institution's Museum of Natural History, Marine Biological Laboratory, New Library of Alexandria, Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL), Barcode of Life (BOLD), Catalogue of Life (COL), and Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF).
Portal for both historic and real-time environmental data, including oceanic, atmospheric, geophysical, and climate information.
NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) hosts and provides access to critical archives of information about the Earth and its processes, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. NCEI preserves, monitors, assesses, and provides public access to climate and historic weather data and information collected in the United States. From the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun and from million-year-old ice core records to near real-time satellite images, NCEI is the Nations leading authority for environmental information.
