Special Collections - ARLH 461/761 - American Cultural Landscape - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

What are Special Collections?

Special collections materials serve as valuable resources that support student learning and artistic growth. SCAD Libraries offers a variety of special collections services year-round. Students, faculty, and the public may make appointments to visit special collections and engage with unique and rare material for research and inspiration. To schedule an appointment, submit a consultation request form.

SCAD Digital Collections

SCAD Libraries Digital Collections
Explore select archival and special collections material at SCAD Libraries online. Content includes:
- Artists' books collections in Atlanta and Savannah
- SCAD student theses
- Images of Savannah from across archival collections
- Original animation art from Don Bluth Studios
SCAD Museum Permanent Collection
With more than 4,500 works from established visual artists of international acclaim, the museum's permanent collections include:
- The Walter O. Evans collection of African American Art
- The Modern and Contemporary Art Collection
- The Earle W. Newton Collection of British and American Art
- The 19th -and-20th-Century Photography Collection - The SCAD Costume Collection

Recommended Architecture Books in Special Collections

SCAD , the Architecture of a University by Margaret Russell (Foreword by)
Call Number: NA6602.A76 S33 2017
ISBN: 9781614285403
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Savannah College of Art and Design, is a private, nonprofit, accredited university with locations in Savannah, Georgia; Atlanta, Georgia; Hong Kong; and Lacoste, France.
Art Architecture Icon: Mercedes-Benz Stadium by Blank, Arthur M; Rowan, John Paul
Call Number: LIB USE ONLY NA6862.G4 M47 2018
Publication Date: 2018

Frank Lloyd Wright in Special Collections

Frank Lloyd Wright in Pop-Up by Iain Thomson
Call Number: POP-UP NA737.W7 T533 2002
ISBN: 9781571456908
Publication Date: 2002-05-14
Using the latest in paper engineering, this book brings to life six of Frank Lloyd Wright's most famous buildings. Includes the Robie House in Chicago, the Charles Ennis House, Fallingwater, the Johnson's Wax administrative building and research tower, the Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church, and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum of Art.
Frank Lloyd Wright by Architectural Forum
Call Number: LIB USE ONLY NA1 .B2 1938x
Publication Date: 1938
Special issue of the Architectural forum, vol. 68, no. 1, January 1938.
The Disappearing City by Frank Lloyd Wright
Call Number: LIB USE ONLY NA9030 .W7
Publication Date: 1932
"A study based upon an architect's experience in trying to get an organic architecture born for these United States." - p.85

Online Archival Resources

Carnegie Mellon University Architecture Archives
Database of digitized architectural documents and images, including sketches, schematics, blueprints, renderings, contracts, photographs, books, and more.
The Architecture Archives documents thousands of architectural projects and the work of hundreds of designers. The archive collects preliminary or schematic sketches; construction drawings and blueprints; presentation renderings; files of contracts, specifications, and other papers; photographs; and selected architectural models. Material in the Architecture Archives has been obtained from architects, firms, architects' families, property owners, and governments. The Architecture Archives also collects sketchbooks, marketing brochures, and other ephemera. The collections date from the mid-nineteenth century to the present but primarily from the twentieth century.

Sears Archives - Modern Home
Advertisements for the mail-order Modern Homes Sears, Roebuck and CO. sold from 1908–1940.
Andrew Dickson White Architectural Photographs Collection
The Andrew Dickson White Architectural Photographs document a wide range of 19th and early 20th century architecture of Europe, the Middle East, and the Americas.
National Building Museum Collections
The National Building Museum’s permanent collection illuminates the building process and documents changing architectural styles and construction techniques.

Digital Library of Georgia
Digital library containing print, audio, and visual resources pertaining to Georgia history, culture, and life.
The Digital Library of Georgia is a GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture. The library presents books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other unique documents online. For more information about the Digital Library of Georgia, visit their website.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Repository for digitized images and documents in the Library of Congress' collections.
The Library of Congress Digital Collections is a repository of digitized images and documents from the Library of Congress. This database includes nearly 500 collections on a variety of topics, with strong digitized records of American history, culture, music, law, print media, the natural world, and the built environment. In addition to still images and text documents, this database includes the Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Collections.

Northwest Architectural Archives
Northwest Architectural Archives (NAA) is the repository for the records of architects, engineers, contractors, landscape architects, interior designers, academics, and local professional societies from the Midwest region with works that extend throughout the United States and the world.

Savannah and Local Interest

William L. Megathlin Collection of the Old Chatham County Jail
Call Number: MD 004
The William L. Megathlin Collection consists of research material gathered by him between 1973-1979 regarding the Old Chatham County Jail in Savannah, Georgia. The research materials include photocopies of articles and chapters from local reference sources about the early history of the building, newspaper clippings about the building, and information about the December 2, 1978 escape of several inmates from the new Chatham County Jail, which replaced the old jail.
Central of Georgia Railway Collection of Architectural Drawings
Call Number: MS 028
The Central of Georgia Railway Collection contains 27 original pencil or pen and ink architectural drawings and revisions for buildings at the Central of Georgia Railway Company’s headquarters in Savannah, Georgia.
Chatham County Board of Education Building Records
Call Number: MS 009
The Chatham County Board of Education Building Records are arranged by school name and consist of photocopies of the Chatham County Board of Education correspondence, records, photographs, brief histories, and newspaper accounts pertaining to events, the closing, and sale of the Anderson Street School, Barnard Street School, Henry Street School, the 37th Street School, and the Harris Street School, also known as the Beach Institute.
Hotel DeSoto Collection
Call Number: MS 010
The collection consists of brochures, envelopes, and a menu from the Hotel DeSoto in Savannah, Georgia. Designed by William Gibbons Preston in the Richardsonian Romanesque style and completed in 1890, the hotel was considered to be the height of luxury for its time. The hotel was demolished in 1966, and the Hilton Savannah DeSoto was erected on the same sit
Old Savannah Collection
Call Number: MS 017
The collection consists of items collected from various sources regarding the history of Savannah. Ranging in date from 1865 to the present, with the bulk in the early part of the 20th century, the collection draws heavily on information generated for the tourist industry and includes map, brochures, information on historic sites, and information on Savannah businesses. Many items purchased for this collection have been cataloged separately can be found through the on-line catalog.
Savannah Clipping Files
Call Number: MS 038
A collection of predominantly newspaper clippings from various sources collected by library staff on topics relating to the Savannah and vicinity, People, Historic Preservation, History, Art Galleries, Buildings, and Neighborhoods. For folders of a general nature that have a number of varied articles, lists of subtopics have been provided. These folders are arranged alphabetically. Date range is 1995-2005.
Savannah Postcard Collection
Call Number: MS 016
The postcards in this collection date from 1904-1968, though many are undated. Some have copyright dates and others, if they were mailed, have postmarks. The bulk of the collection dates from between 1905-1915. The subject of the collection is predominantly of Savannah buildings, street scenes, and monuments.
Savannah Stereoview Collection
Call Number: MS 018
The collection consists of stereoviews of Savannah buildings, scenes, residences, monuments, cemeteries, and events. These images were by various photographers and date from the 1880’s to the 1930’s, though most are undated.

ARLH 461/761 - American Cultural Landscape

Ask A Librarian

Special Collections Guides

Images of Savannah