Use these image groups for inspiration for your pattern. Patterns on Flickr will show you patterns in the natural world while Artstor will show you ways pattern has been interpreted by other creators.
Are you tired of searching "pattern"? Try using related keywords. These can be synonyms, specific artists/subjects, or places you might find patterns. Try these or come up with your own!
Try the following tools for extracting hex color codes and color palettes from uploaded images as well as building color palettes from starter colors:
Screenshot via Coolors
All done? Love your pattern? Submit it to The Pattern Library.
Patterns 2. Design, Art and Architecture by
With more than ten thousand copies sold of Patterns in Design, Art and Architecture, now comes Patterns 2, the new volume of the successful pattern book. Once again, the publication presents extraordinary works by leading firms, artists, designers, and architects such as Michael Lin, Foreign Office Architects, and Patricia Urquiola. Since the first volume was published, the subject of patterns has continued to evolve: colorful patterned wallpapers have returned to private homes; patterns have become a determining factor in graphic design and architecture; and designers are asked to design an ever-increasing variety of new ornaments and pattern repeats. Patterns 2 provides the necessary inspiration. It describes current trends, presents contemporary experiments, and situates the development within the cultural-historical context. For this follow-up volume the editors have broadened the focus. In addition to architecture, design, and art, Patterns 2 now contains patterns from fashion and the sciences. These include graphic representations of whale songs and genetic codes and the latest creations of fashion designers like c.neeon and Henrik Vibskov.
Print and Pattern: Nature by
The latest book based on the popular Print & Pattern blog, Print & Pattern: Nature celebrates beautiful surface designs, patterns, and motifs of leaves, insects, grasses, butterflies, and trees. Product areas covered include stationery, cards and giftwrap, fabrics, wallpaper, rugs, ceramics, homewares, gadget skins, and more. Documenting the work of the best designers in the field, the book is an invaluable source of reference and inspiration for surface designers, designer-makers and craftspeople, graphic designers, illustrators, and textile designers.
Pattern by
Back in the 1990's, when Irish-born designer Orla Kiely graduated from London's Royal College of Art, fashion was black, conceptual, devoid of pattern and frankly, pretty boring. Her very first collection of signature handbags turned the fashion world on its head, displaying a new sense of freshness and optimism. Now, nearly 20 years later, the graphic patterns and expressive colors of her apparel, handbags and home furnishings are instantly recognizable - and universally coveted. In Pattern, Orla Kiely traces the pattern of her own development as a designer, providing useful information and inspiring insights that can help all of us develop a creative eye for color, shape, form - and pattern. Gain a glimpse of a typical fashion year, including the timing, production and presentation of seasonal collections. Come to understand the power of color, how it triggers emotional and intellectual responses, and how to temper those responses by combining and contrasting tones. And who better than Kiely to advise us on the use of pattern in our lives, be it in the clothes we wear, the accessories we carry, or the furnishing we surround ourselves with in our homes, from wallpaper to rugs, lampshades to linens? Vibrant illustrations and gorgeous photography make Pattern a visual treasure and a thoughtful guide to using pattern with confidence and joy.
Full-Color Allover Patterns by
This convenient CD-ROM and book set presents an impressive array of allover patterns, chosen for their eye-catching appeal and suitability for practical use. When repeated on a computer screen, the full-color patterns can easily be expanded in any direction to form a continuous allover design. Adapted from fifteenth- through twentieth-century sources, the designs encompass a rich variety of subjects and styles: geometrics, florals and foliates, animal and nature motifs, and much more. Ideal for use in designing wallpaper, textiles, and book covers, these versatile patterns will also work perfectly on catalogs, stationery, and a host of other print projects.
Infinite Pattern by
Pattern recognition is one of the earliest skills taught in elementary school - both how to recognize patterns as they occur and how to predict their occurrence. Designers regularly make use of patterns to produce graphics for their clients that are at once appealing, recognizable and brand worthy. Utilizing everything from photography, geometry and typography motifs is possible. INFINITE PATTERN includes a variety of stunning examples produced for annual reports, bags, business cards, clothing, invitations, menus, packaging, walls and more.
The Pattern Base by
A strikingly beautiful sourcebook of inspiration from the founder of one of the most influential textile and fabric design websites Textile design has been liberated and democratized by digital media. With new technology allowing for more precise manipulation and larger variation of materials and patterns, textile designers have found new ways to create ambitiously, experiment, and be inspired. At the same time, the rise of digital processes has led to a renewed appreciation of traditional craftsmanship and the handmade, and of the tactility and construction of textiles and surfaces. In The Pattern Base, Kristi O'Meara and Audrey Victoria Keiffer, cofounders of the Chicago-based design studio and online archive The Patternbase, showcase more than 550 textile, surface, fashion, and print designs from over 150 designers working around the world. Part One is a sourcebook of these designs, organized by type of pattern: Geometric, Floral, Representational, Digital Abstract, Illustrative, and Fabric Swatches. Part Two presents profiles of fifteen artists, constituting the hottest up-and-comers in the field, including Lorenzo Nanni, whose delicate beadwork conjures the natural world's flora and fauna; Anita Hirlekar, whose felt, velvet, and lace work create luscious variations of texture; and Kayla Mattes, mistress of kitsch aesthetics and material experimentations.
Patterns in Design, Art and Architecture by
If there is a new language of contemporary design, surely it is pattern. Evocative, hypnotizing, sensual, calming, jarring, soothing patterns cover, conceal, and reveal an astonishing range of emotions and are at home on a chair or lamp as they are on the facades of enormous buildings. Patterns in Design examines this new trend, illustrating it with work by design luminaries like Hella Jongerius, Tord Moontje, Michael Lin, Olaf Nicolai, and Sauebruch and Hutton. Along the journey, the reader will experience an astonishing diversity of colors, shapes, and applications, as well as new technologies like laser engraving and digital milling that promise an even bolder future for patterns. An indispensable guide for anyone interested in contemporary trends in design, art and architecture. Published in conjunction with Form.
Pattern Sourcebook: Nature by
This book presents a collection of carefully selected nature-inspired patterns for use by designers and artists in their projects and personal work. A companion CD ROM provides 250 patterns in high-definitional JPEG format along with PSD format from which you can freely manipulate andmodify the patterns to customize them for your own use. This is an inspirational and highly practical reference and sourcebook for anyone working in the area of visual art.
Pattern Sourcebook: Nature 2 by
This book presents a further collection of carefully selected nature-inspired patterns for use by designers and artists in their projects and personal work. A companion CD ROM provides 250 patterns in high-definitional JPEG format along with PSD format from which you can freely manipulate andmodify the patterns to customize them for your own use. This is an inspirational and highly practical reference and sourcebook for anyone working in the area of visual art.
Pattern Sourcebook: Around the World by
250 Inspired Patters to Use in Creative Projects and Designs This book is a magnificent and useful collection of World-style patterns. The carefully selected images are organized in 10 categories making this book a wonderful resource for crafters, artists and professional designers. The CD ROM provides 250 patterns in both high definition JPEG format and PSD with a layer so you can freely create your own patterns by coloring and modifying the PSD files. This is highly inspirational and practical design tool for anyone.
Spectrum: heritage patterns and colors by
A visual analysis ofthe colors used infurnishing fabrics andwallpapers from thefifteenth century totoday, this book providesinspiration, and practicalreference, for designers. Interior decorators have long used specific colors and palettes to evoke strong moods--the right mix of browns, greens, and oranges can easily bring you back into the 1970s. Here, in this highly original and digestible book, color palettes from the fifteenth century onward are analyzed and explained by interior design specialist Ros Byam Shaw. The colors used in each wallpaper and fabric are presented in proportional grids, giving a clear understanding of the hues that have become emblematic of their era. Each wallpaper and fabric, carefully selected by Here Design from the V&A's collection, is arranged chronologically with its own double-page spread with extended captions that explain the significance of the palette. A color grid is shown beside each pattern, in which the colors in the original piece are shown in proportion to their use, and with their CMYK references to enable designers to replicate these colors in their own work. The result is a book that offers fascinating insights into color that will be of interest and use to designers working today, whether specialists in interiors, products, or graphics. It will also appeal to a more general audience as a beautifully designed book that offers inspiration to those interested in interior design.
Patterns in Art by
Richly embroidered robes. Intricate lace collars. Elaborately laid floor tiles. Delicately carved and modeled cornices and capitals. These are among the details of decorative art that the Old Masters lovingly rendered in their paintings, to establish a setting, convey a portrait subject's social status, or sometimes just enliven a scene. Together these details--so easy to overlook in the imposing harmony of draftsmanship, color, and composition that makes up a great painting--form a veritable history of ornament.This inventive book plucks these decorative motifs from the background of paintings by masters like Bronzino, Fra Angelico and Jacques-Louis David, and transforms them into vibrant two-dimensional patterns. Seeing these patterns side-by-side with the original paintings deepens our appreciation of both. Patterns in Art will be a resource for graphic designers, and a revelation for all art lovers.
The Pattern Sourcebook: A Century of Surface Design by
This stunning picture book chronicles one hundred years of classic patterns, featuring designs in a wide variety of styles, art movements, and countries of origin to give an overview of surface design from the beginning of the last century to the present day. The book is full of original patterns from textiles, wallpaper, furniture, and ceramics and other decorative designs, drawn from a wide range of sources, including the rarely seen archives of leading manufacturers and private collections. Images are arranged by color, and retro and contemporary images come together so that exciting and unexpected juxtapositions occur. Featuring stunning patterns from celebrated artists, such as Henry Moore and Eduardo Paolozzi, to contemporary practitioners, such as Eley Kishimoto and Rob Ryan, this rich visual history of patterns will be a source of inspiration to designers everywhere.
Pattern Design: a Period Design Sourcebook by
One of the world's best collections of period designs brought together as an invaluable resource for designers of all kinds, from fabric, textile, wallpaper, stained glass to graphic and fashion designers. This collection of over 300 designs covers wallpaper, textiles, furnishings, costume, tiles and ceramics. The designs range from medieval through renaissance and the 19th century right up to the 1950s; from classic French 17th-century wallpaper through William Morris pomegranate designs to 1950s children's wallpaper. The book is arranged by type of design and motifs and periods and genres to make it as accessible to designers as possible. An index at the back helps make readers find the right motif, style or pattern. Though the designs have a strong European flavour it does feature Asian and Middle Eastern designs that have reached the unsurpassable National Trust collection.
How to Make Repeat Patterns by
This book explains, in simple steps and non-mathematical terminology, how to create repeat patterns in a line, on the plane, as tiles, and as Escher-like repeats. The book also shows how to make 'wallpaper repeats', where the elements of the pattern merge into each other, apparently seamlessly. Using letters as the basic elements, the book demonstrates how all repeat pattern-making comes out of four simple operations: translation, rotation, reflection, and glide reflection. It will provide the definitive one-stop pattern-making resource for professional designers and students across disciplines, from textiles and fashion to graphic design and architecture.
Designing Patterns by
In this practical handbook, Scandinavian expert Lotta Kuhlhorn explains the ins and outs of how to design patterns --for everything from wallpaper to tea services. The included CD features templates for experimentation by beginners and professionals alike.
Design Your Own Repeat Patterns by
Indispensable manual for artists, craftspeople shows how to create brick, diaper, diamond, ogee, other useful patterns. Step-by-step instructions.
Print & Pattern: Geometric by
The latest book based on the popular Print & Pattern website, Print & Pattern: Geometric celebrates beautiful surface designs, patterns, and motifs made from geometric shapes such as circles, triangles, hexagons, etc. The patterns included reflect current trends for tribal, Aztec, and Native American designs, along with Scandinavian influences, and more mathematical and scientific looks. Product areas covered will include stationery, cards, and giftwrap, fabrics, wallpaper, rugs, ceramics, homewares, gadget skins, and more. Documenting the work of the best designers in the field, the book will be an invaluable source of reference and inspiration for surface designers, designer makers and craftspeople, graphic designers, illustrators, and textile designers.
Study for Fox I by Anni Albers via Artstor
