An encyclopedic resource covering the history of art with an emphasis on western art.
Oxford Art Online is comprised of the Oxford Dictionary of Art, the Grove Encyclopedia of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art and includes an image library. This database provides peer-reviewed articles written by experts in the field to introduce key topics, themes, figures, and movements in the history of art. For help using Oxford Art Online, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Interactive timeline of global art history illustrated by items in The Met's collection and accompanied by essays by experts.
The Metropolitan Museum of Arts Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met's collections. This platform is a reference, research, and teaching tool for students and scholars of art history. The timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, 8,000 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. Essays focus on specific themes in art history, including artistic movements and artists; historical and archaeological sites; empires and civilizations; recurrent themes and concepts; and media and material. Works of art from around the world and from all eras are contextualized chronologically, geographically, and thematically. Chronologies provide a linear outline of art history by geographical region and each include representative works of art, a timeline, an overview, and key events. Keywordscategorized by art movement, style, creator, geography, time period, material and technique, object, and subject matterfurther connect chronologies, essays, and works of art.
Online art history textbook containing hundreds of videos, essays, and images of major periods, themes, and artists around the world from ancient to contemporary.
In-Depth Information
For more detailed and specific information about a topic, search Catalog+ or explore these databases;
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Search Now
Classic Catalog
Magazines and Journals
Available Online & In Print
To view these journals online, click "Browse eJournal" in the catalog record:
