Research Artists Online - DSGN 101 - Color Theory - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

image

Looking for information about an artist? SCAD Libraries offers many resources for researching artists and their work through databases and websites.

Josef Albers at the Metropolitan Museum of Art: P-Blue via Artstor

Researching Art & Artists

Great sources for basic information:

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedic resource covering the history of art with an emphasis on western art.
Oxford Art Online is comprised of the Oxford Dictionary of Art, the Grove Encyclopedia of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art and includes an image library. This database provides peer-reviewed articles written by experts in the field to introduce key topics, themes, figures, and movements in the history of art. For help using Oxford Art Online, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Heilbrunn Timeline This link opens in a new window
Interactive timeline of global art history illustrated by items in The Met's collection and accompanied by essays by experts.
The Metropolitan Museum of Arts Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met's collections. This platform is a reference, research, and teaching tool for students and scholars of art history. The timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, 8,000 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. Essays focus on specific themes in art history, including artistic movements and artists; historical and archaeological sites; empires and civilizations; recurrent themes and concepts; and media and material. Works of art from around the world and from all eras are contextualized chronologically, geographically, and thematically. Chronologies provide a linear outline of art history by geographical region and each include representative works of art, a timeline, an overview, and key events. Keywordscategorized by art movement, style, creator, geography, time period, material and technique, object, and subject matterfurther connect chronologies, essays, and works of art.
Artsy This link opens in a new window
Website for discovering both historical and contemporary art images of art, architecture, and design from around the world.
Artsy features the worlds leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artists estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place. The site contains over one million works of art, architecture, and design by 100,000 artists spanning historical, modern, and contemporary works, including the largest online collection of contemporary art. Artsy also draws connections and maps relationships among works of art, artists, and periods.

Great sources for high quality images:

Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
Media library containing interactive images and video of artworks, cultural sites, and artifacts from around the world.
Google Arts & Culture collects high-quality media from partner museums and archives around the world, including artworks, interpretive videos, and 360-degree experiences of cultural sites. This database features content from over 2,000 leading institutions who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to bring the world's museums, archives, and cultural sites to a single virtual home.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Artsy

Search by artist or browse by medium to find inspiration and high-quality images of art from around the world.

Tip: To browse, mouse over "Artworks" and click "All Artworks". Then, select filters from the left side bar to view specific artists media, nationality, time period, color, etc.

Artsy

Arts and Culture

Searching for an Artist

Searching for an artist and their work? Optimize your search:

Check your spelling
Use the artist's full name
Try any alternative spellings or names
Put the artist's name in quotation marks if you are getting unrelated results
Add specific terms to your search like a medium or subject

Search Strategies

Customize your search to improve results.
HINT: This is where brainstorming a list of keywords related to your topic comes in handy!

“ ” Group keywords with quotation marks to search as an exact phrase.
Example: “the night watchman”

* Use the asterisk if you want to search multiple iterations of a keyword.
Example: sculpt* = sculpture, sculptors, sculpted

& Use AND to combine several keywords or phrases.
Example: "Ai Wei Wei" AND installation

+ Use OR to search for information about one term, and also articles about another term.
Example: sustainable OR eco-friendly

- Use NOT to search for information about one term, while excluding another term
Example: Michaelangelo NOT turtle

Advanced Search features make it easy to narrow a large result list. For example:

Subject links limit results to a specific topic or discipline

Specify a publication date range

Search within the title of an article, the summary or the entire text