Project 2: Poster Design - DSGN 101 - Color Theory - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Researching Artists

Looking for information about specific artists? Need tips for how to search effectively? Visit the Research Artists Online tab for recommended trustworthy sources of information.

Looking for examples of their work? Try JSTOR or Google Art & Culture in the Researching Artists Online Tab.

Why not just Google the artist? Google may give you the most results but not the best. The most accurate and rich information will be found in vetted, expert sources like those you see in this guide.

Featured Resource: NYPL Digital Collections

Posters in NYPL Digital Collections

Online Poster Examples & Inspiration

Sometimes when searching online for poster inspiration, advertisements and social media crowd the search results. Here are a few high-quality online resources to inspire:

Posters from the National Library of Australia
230,000+ travel, propaganda, advertising, and public health posters from Australia and the English-speaking world.
V&A Museum Poster Collection
Over 5,000 images of travel posters, war posters, and many more.
Travel Posters at the Library of Congress
See the variety of travel posters held by the Library of Congress and click "Find More Travel Posters" to view the rest of the collection.
Railway Museum UK Poster Collection
Browse transportation and travel posters from the Railway Museum's collections
Air and Space Museum Poster Collection
Travel, war, and flight posters from the 20th century.
Cooper Hewitt Museum Poster Collection
3500+ posters on all topics from the Cooper Hewitt collections.
Philadelphia Museum of Art Poster Collection
Unique fashion, advertising, music, and art posters from the PMA.
Museum of New Zealand Poster Collection
Propaganda and travel posters from New Zeland.