Finding Information - EQST 425 - Equestrian Studies Capstone Experience - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Search for Information

Search Now

Classic Catalog

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Select your database by clicking on its name

For ID Number, use the 9-digit number located on the front of your SCAD ID card

You should now be logged in and able to search.

Ask A Librarian if you are having difficulties logging in.

Find Equestrian Studies Articles

Use these databases to find scholarly articles on equestrian studies topics:

Example keywords: horse industry, horse training, horsemanship, dressage

Search All EBSCO Databases
Use this link to search all the EBSCO databases available to SCAD students at once.
Search All ProQuest Databases
Use this link to search all ProQuest databases available to SCAD students at once.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
DART-Europe E-Thesis Portal This link opens in a new window
This is a database of thesis papers from across Europe. Use these to get an idea for a topic, find research results, or browse bibliographies for sources.
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia that facilitates global access to European research theses. DART-Europe provides researchers with a single European portal for Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs), which are added on an ongoing basis. For more information about using DART-Europe, visit the DART-Europe Help page.

Training & Competition

Search Tips

Use these call numbers and keywords to browse for books on these subjects in the library and the library catalog:

SF294.2-SF297 Horse sports, shows

SF309.5 School Riding, Dressage

SF304.5-307 Driving

SF308.5-310.5 Horsemanship. Riding

Keywords to search: horsemanship, competition horses

Horse Training

How Horses Learn
Call Number: SF287 .M37 2005
An expert in equine behavior and psychology demonstrates which methods work and why they are effective, enabling horse owners to choose the best possible training program for themselves and their horses.
Classical Schooling with the Horse in Mind
Call Number: SF309.5 .B47 2007
Gentle gymnastic training techniques. Focuses on how the rider learns in the classical system and the selection and management of the horse.
Schooling and Riding the Sport Horse
Call Number: SF295.5 .C76 2004
Examines the ways in which a rider's position and controls are essential to the training of the horse, from the beginning stages of training through advanced jumping and cross-country work.

Course Design

Jumps, Etc: jumps, dressage arenas, and stable equipment you can build
Call Number: SF294.35 .C36 2000
Includes detailed instructions and plans, helpful photos and full details on setting up dressage arenas.

Dressage and Riding Styles

101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider
Call Number: SF309.5 B33 2005
Features a full arena diagram and step-by- step instructions for each exercise, starting with the basics and moving up to maneuvers developed by members of the U.S. Olympic team.
The USDF Guide to Dressage
Call Number: SF309.5 .B79 2006
Demystifies basic dressage techniques for riders of all disciplines. Includes the history of dressage, terminology and equipment, and information on competition.
Dressage Masters
Call Number: SF309.48 .C65 2006
Master instructors express their philosophies and practices with regard to training horses and riders, and the state of dressage in the United States and elsewhere in the world.
Hunter Seat Equitation by George H. Morris
Call Number: SF309 .M8 1990
A classic by a world-renowned teacher and master equestrian--the definitive work on the art of teaching and riding the hunter seat, now updated to include refinements in Morris's insightful program of riding instruction. B & W photographs throughout

Equestrian Competition Websites

United States Dressage Federation (USDF)
National membership organization dedicated to education, the recognition of achievement and promotion of dressage.
United States Hunter Jumper Association (USHJA)
Promotes the Hunter/Jumper discipline and the well being of its participants.
Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI)
The international governing body for all Olympic equestrian disciplines.

Straight from the source: When researching information about specific organizations or companies, it is helpful to get information directly from them. But be weary --- you may only be getting one perspective. Organizations have a vested interest in presenting themselves in the best possible light.

Anatomy & Care

Search Tips

Use these call numbers and keywords to browse for books on these subjects in the library and the library catalog:

SF277-SF359.7 Horse Culture

SF281 Horse Behavior

SF765 Horse Anatomy

SF311-312 Draft horses

SF315-315.5 Ponies

SF360-360.4 Feral horses. Wild horses

Keywords to search: equine sports medicine, equine management

The Horse Health Care Library Series

Set of four books on horse health management including:

Understanding equine neurological disorders
Understanding equine hoof care
Understanding equine nutrition
Understanding equine medications

Horse Health Care Library Series

Equine Anatomy & Treatment

The Veterinary Care of the Horse
Call Number: SF951 .D48 2006
Covers a wide range of topics including preventative medicine, wound management and diseases.
The Horse Conformation Handbook
Call Number: SF279 .T49 2005
Explains how conformation relates to function and what to look for when evaluating a horse.
All Horse Systems Go
Call Number: SF951 .L68 2006
Veterinary care and conditioning resource for modern performance, sport, and pleasure horses.
The Basic Principles of Equine Massage-Muscle Therapy
Call Number: SF745.5 .S428 2003
Covers massage applications, anatomy, stretching, conditions, physiology, adjunctive therapies and saddle fitting.
Equine Nutrition and Feeding
Call Number: SF285.5 .F73 2004
Covers every aspect of the nutrition of breeding, growing and working horses, and includes toxicology and metabolic and other diseases, related to diet.

Equine Safety & Stabling

Horse Safe
Call Number: ebook
A Complete Guide to Equine Safety.
Stablekeeping
Call Number: SF285.3 .H56 2000
Learn to design and maintain a high-quality barn with this complete stablekeeping reference.
Horse Stable and Riding Arena Design
Call Number: TH4930 .W54 2006
Practical reference filled with clear, user-friendly design illustrations and information on designing for the comfort, safety, and health of your horse.

Horse Care Websites

EquiSearch
Magazine resource including advice on horse care, riding, and training through news, videos, and blogs.
Kentucky Equine Research Library
News, conference proceedings, published research, and more from leading professionals in Equine Nutrition and Management Information.
Chronicle of the Horse
Horse news and equestrian lifestyle online publication

Remember: be critical of any websites before you use them in your research. Are they written by experts and published in a trustworthy source? Is this a source that academics or professionals would use?

History & Culture

Search Tips

Use these call numbers and keywords to browse for books on these subjects in the library and the library catalog:

SF277-294.2 Horses, History and culture

Keywords to search: human-horse studies, equine therapy, equestrian sport history, horses and anthropology, human-animal relationships

History

The Age of the Horse by Susanna Forrest
Call Number: SF283 .F67 2017
Equestrian expert Susanna Forrest presents a panorama of the animal's prominent role in societies around the world and across time.
An Illustrated History of Equestrian Sports by Marie de Pellegars; Benoît Capdebarthes
Call Number: SF294.2 .P45 2019
This is the first volume to trace the history of equestrian sports, including individual and team results across the sport's three official Olympic disciplines. This important reference documents the history of competitive horse-riding from 1912--when the sport first appeared at the modern Olympic Games--to the present.
Precarious Partners by Kari Weil
Call Number: SF284.F7 W45 2020
In Precarious Partners, Kari Weil takes readers back to a time in France when horses were an inescapable part of daily life.
The Horse in Premodern European Culture by Anastasija Ropa (Editor); Timothy Dawson (Editor)
Call Number: SF284.E85 H67 2019
This volume provides a unique introduction to the most topical issues, advances, and challenges in medieval horse history.
The Horse by Debbie Busby; Catrin Rutland
Call Number: SF285 .B87 2019
A comprehensive, richly illustrated introduction to the fascinating natural history of the horse, from prehistory to the present . This book looks not only at the natural history of the horse in the context of its use by humans, but also at its own, independent story, describing the way horses live, think, and behave both alongside people and on their own.

Society & Culture

Horse Breeds and Human Society: Purity, Identity and the Making of the Modern Horse by Kristen Guest
Call Number: SF291 .H67 2020
This book demonstrates how horse breeding is entwined with human societies and identities. It explores issues of lineage, purity, status through interconnections between animals and humans.
The Stylish Life: Equestrian by Te Neues; VIcky Moon
Call Number: SF309.25 .M66 2015
Transcending sport and spectacle, all things equine and equestrian have captivated and charmed an elite global audience.This book encapsulates the glittering people, international events, fashion, and cultural impact that equine sports have had on the world at large.
Equestrian Cultures by Monica Mattfeld (Editor); Kristen Guest (Editor)
Call Number: SF283 .E68 2019
This book is about the modern period of equine history and culture, illuminating the largely untold story of how the horse has responded to the accelerated pace of modernity across the globe.
Equine Cultures in Transition by Jonna Bornemark (Editor); Petra Andersson (Editor); Ulla Ekström von Essen (Editor)
Call Number: SF285 .E68 2019
Societal views on animals are rapidly changing and have become more diversified: can we use them for our own pleasure, and how should we understand animal agency? These questions inform our ethical understanding of horses and the human-horse relation.
Human-Animal Relationships in Equestrian Sport and Leisure by Katherine Dashper
Call Number: SF294.2 .D37 2017
This book provides an in-depth understanding of human-horse relationships and interactions as embodied in equestrian sport and leisure.