Research Guides: FASH 247- History of Fashion: Find Articles

Search Strategies

Customize your search to improve results.
HINT: This is where brainstorming a list of keywords related to your topic comes in handy!

“ ” Group keywords with quotation marks to search as an exact phrase.
Example: “the night watchman”

* Use the asterisk if you want to search multiple iterations of a keyword.
Example: sculpt* = sculpture, sculptors, sculpted

& Use AND to combine several keywords or phrases.
Example: "Ai Wei Wei" AND installation

+ Use OR to search for information about one term, and also articles about another term.
Example: sustainable OR eco-friendly

- Use NOT to search for information about one term, while excluding another term
Example: Michaelangelo NOT turtle

Advanced Search features make it easy to narrow a large result list. For example:

Subject links limit results to a specific topic or discipline

Specify a publication date range

Search within the title of an article, the summary or the entire text

Library Catalog

Browsing for books and articles? Search Catalog+ to find a variety of resources all in one place:

Looking for a specific book title or author? Search the Classic Catalog below:

Berg Fashion Library

Berg Fashion Library
Encyclopedia addressing fashion, dress and textiles from a wide range of cultures and time periods.
Berg Fashion Library is a leading academic source providing reference entries, images, and ebooks for fashion, textiles, and cultural studies research. For help navigating Berg Fashion Library, visit How to Use.

Historical News and Magazine Articles

Vogue Archive
Archive of American Vogue magazine, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images that are completely indexed and searchable.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to the current year, reproduced in high-resolution images.
The Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the fashion and retail publication Womens Wear Daily (WWD). This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for fashion, business, and history. Scans of every page are included in high-resolution, with searchable text and indexing for each article, advertisement, and cover. Take research deeper by cross-searching with other the Vogue Archive, arts indexes, historical periodicals, and newspapers in other ProQuest databases. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Looking for back issues in print?

Search the name of the magazine in the print articles search bar on the Journal Title Search page. You can also browse a list of fashion-related publications in print and online in the Periodicals Guide.

Previous issues of magazines and journals are bound in order of date and located in the periodicals section of the library. Inquire at the front desk for help locating these periodicals.

Recommended Journals

Dress: the journal of the Costume Society of America
Dress, the journal of the Costume Society of America, addresses many diverse areas of study including examinations of dress in art, social history, anthropology, and material culture.
Fashion Practice
Fashion Practice is the first peer-reviewed academic journal to cover the full range of contemporary design and manufacture within the context of the fashion industry.
Fashion Theory
Fashion Theory takes as its starting point a definition of “fashion” as the cultural construction of the embodied identity. It provides an interdisciplinary forum for the rigorous analysis of cultural phenomena ranging from footbinding to fashion advertising.
Luxury: history, culture, consumption
Luxury: History, Culture, Consumption considers luxury in broad socio-cultural contexts, exploring and interrogating both our historical and contemporary understanding of the term.
Textile: The Journal of Cloth and Culture
Textile brings together research in textiles in an innovative and distinctive academic forum for all those who share a multifaceted view of textiles within an expanded field.

Scholarly Fashion Articles

Art and Architecture Source
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
ProQuest index of scholarly and professional articles from design and craft publications.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) indexes journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items from 1973 to the present. Topics covered by DAAI include product, retail, industrial, package, book, textile, furniture, jewelry, fashion, graphic and interior design as well as ceramics, illustration, typography, architecture, advertising, animation, and much more. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Select your database by clicking on its name

For ID Number, use the 9-digit number located on the front of your SCAD ID card

You should now be logged in and able to search.

Ask A Librarian if you are having difficulties logging in.