Visual Research - FASH 501 - Fashion Design and Development - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Image Search Tips

Google Images is an excellent starting point for exploratory research, but be sure to expand the search further!

Use a SCAD Libraries recommended Image Database.
- These will have high-quality images that will be well-suited for presentations, and come from verifiable sources.
Find the museum or collections that own a certain artwork or style of art.
- This information is sometimes found in Wikipedia or in JSTOR.
- Look for pages or links like "image collections," "online collections," or "digital library" on the institutions website.
Search an artist's name and the phrase "catalogue raisonné" in SCAD Libraries.
- Catalogues raisonnés are comprehensive listings of all known works by an artist, and might include images, and which museum or collection owns the work.

Download High Quality Images Here

We recommend these image databases:

JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Digital Image Database
Image database maintained by the SCAD Visual Resources Center. DID contains a custom array of digitized images for the SCAD community.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Art Images

Artsy
Online platform for discovering and collecting art, comprising 800,000+ artworks by 80,000+ artists from leading galleries, museums, foundations, and artists’ estates. Some images may be downloaded.
British Museum - Collections
Search over 4 million collection objects.
Calisphere
Nearly 2 million digital items like images and recordings from California museums, libraries, and archives — a quarter of which are in the public domain.
Freer/Sackler - Collections
40,000+ high-resolution images of Asian and American art, may be used for any non-commercial purpose. Courtesy of the Smithsonian Institution's Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery.
Getty Open Content
Public domain art images from Getty Museum collections
Getty Search Gateway
Find images and other material across several of the Getty Museum's repositories. Note that some resources are copyrighted; please check rights statements before re-using material.
Google Arts & Culture
Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.
Guide to Digitized Art, Architecture,Design and Craft Journals - DesignInform
Links to a variety of journals that have been digitized and are available free to access on the Internet. The dates given are for the period covered by the digitization
Harvard Art Museums - Collections
233,000+ objects from the Fogg, Busch-Reisinger, and Arthur M. Sackler Museums - includes ancient through contemporary works.
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Collections
400,000+ images from the Museum's collections. Some images may be used freely for non-commercial scholarly purposes; look for an "OASC" under the image to verify.
NGA Images - National Gallery of Art
Includes more than 20,000 open access digital images, available free of charge for download and use
Rijksmuseum - Rijkstudio
Nearly one million images available free of restrictions to download, remix, or reuse via the Rijkstudio feature.
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service)
Online resource for visual arts that includes over 100,000 images as well as essays based on the image collections.

Berg Fashion Library

Berg Fashion Library
Encyclopedia addressing fashion, dress and textiles from a wide range of cultures and time periods.
Berg Fashion Library is a leading academic source providing reference entries, images, and ebooks for fashion, textiles, and cultural studies research. For help navigating Berg Fashion Library, visit How to Use.

Vogue Fashion Archive

Vogue Archive
Archive of American Vogue magazine, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images that are completely indexed and searchable.

Women's Wear Daily (WWD)

Women's Wear Daily
Online magazine providing fashion business news and women's fashion trends for industry professionals.

Women's Wear Daily (WWD) includes fashion news, history, business insights, and more for women's fashion and the global fashion industry. Articles, videos, and images are added daily, offering trustworthy, up-to-date information for designers, marketers, retailers, and other industry professionals. For help using Women's Wear Daily, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to the current year, reproduced in high-resolution images.
The Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the fashion and retail publication Womens Wear Daily (WWD). This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for fashion, business, and history. Scans of every page are included in high-resolution, with searchable text and indexing for each article, advertisement, and cover. Take research deeper by cross-searching with other the Vogue Archive, arts indexes, historical periodicals, and newspapers in other ProQuest databases. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

WWD - Print Edition
Printed copies of WWD are available at the Jen Library, from 1990 to present