Resources - FASM 400 - Contemporary Issues - Research Guides at Savannah College of Art and Design

Explore your topic

SCAD Libraries have subscriptions to many databases. To help you find information about your chosen ethical issue, we've selected a few databases for you.

Academic Search Premier
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers from a wide variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and much more.
Academic Search Premier contains over 4,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers. This multidisciplinary research database covers a variety of disciplines, including engineering, physics, psychology, religion, philosophy, science and technology, education, humanities, civics, and history as well as the physical sciences. This database provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, videos from the Associated Press, and primary source documents pertaining to government and law. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
WGSN
Trend forecasting platform that provides industry and trade show reports as well as trends, forecasting, consumer profiles, and market intelligence across the following sector channels: Fashion, Beauty, Interiors, Consumer Tech, and City by City.
WARC
Database of research, case studies, and business intelligence in advertising and marketing from the United States and other major global markets.
WARC provides business intelligence, reports, case studies, news briefings, and more. WARCs industry, category, and consumer insights and best practices are used by advertising agencies and marketing professionals to optimize their operations for brand-building and effectiveness. The database provides access to over 18,000 case studies, the latest research from across the marketing industry, and best practice from leaders in marketing. For help using WARC, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
CQ Researcher
Weekly full-text publication with unbiased reports on current controversial or noteworthy topics including politics and social issues.
CQ Researcher includes weekly reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy with statistics, pro/con positions, references, and bibliographies. For more information on using CQ Researcher, see this overview.

Women's Wear Daily Article Search
Use Women's Wear Daily Article Search to find articles about your chosen ethical issue in the fashion industry. For example: "animal rights and fashion".
Catalog Plus
Catalog plus is like the Google of SCAD Libraries. You can use Catalog plus to search across different resources we have (articles in databases AND books, both print and electronic) . For example, search "fur and fashion".

Find Company Information

Here are some resources that will help you find information about a company.

Tip: You may need to find the parent company of the company you want to research. For instance, Calvin Klein is owned by PVH Corp.

Remember, information about some private companies may not be available.

Business Source Premier
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, and case studies as well as company, industry, market, and country reports.
Business Source Premier provides full-text articles back to 1886 for more than 2,000 journals, including full text for more than 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The database includes resources from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing and more. The database also includes other information sources such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group, and CountryWatch as well as detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and Associate Press (AP) video content. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Data Axle
Business directory containing detailed company and financial information for U.S. and global businesses as well as job postings.
Data Axle, formerly Reference USA, consists of two databases covering business information and career resources. U.S. Businessess provides financial information and contacts for millions of businesses operating in the United States. U.S. Jobs lists current job and internship postings as well as career tools, including resume writing tips, cover letter examples, interview tips, salary estimates, and more.
Winmo
Database focused on sales intelligence and prospecting in various advertising and creative markets.
Winmo contains contact information, advertising budgets, market performance, and sales predictions for thousands of companies and brands. Also included are creative ads and case studies from around the world.

Recommended Websites and Databases

Business of Fashion
The Business of Fashion is recognised around the world for its authoritative, analytical point of view on the $2.5 trillion global fashion industry. Our mission is simple: build fashion’s global membership community to open, inform and connect the industry.

Sign up information is listed through MySCAD.
CSRHub
Transparent ratings and rankings of 18,051 companies from 148 countries, driven by 724 industry-leading CSR/ESG data sources
including ESG analyst, crowd, government, publication, & and not-for-profit data
The Fashion Law
The Fashion Law is a modern media and information company that exists to bridge the gap between the worlds of business and fashion law.
Fashion Revolution
Resources from all over the world from designers, academics, writers, business leaders, policymakers, brands, retailers, marketers, producers, makers, workers and fashion lovers gathering materials for an ethical fashion industry.
Good On You
Ethical brand ratings.

Nexis Uni
You will be able to access the New York Times and other current news from here.
Nexus Uni provides both historical and current news from publications around the world. U.S. government, legal, and financial documents are also available through Nexus Uni. The platform can be searched in a variety of ways, including by keyword, publication, and time period. For help using Nexus Uni, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Vogue Archive
Archive of American Vogue magazine, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images that are completely indexed and searchable.
WGSN
Trend forecasting platform that provides industry and trade show reports as well as trends, forecasting, consumer profiles, and market intelligence across the following sector channels: Fashion, Beauty, Interiors, Consumer Tech, and City by City.
Women's Wear Daily
Online magazine providing fashion business news and women's fashion trends for industry professionals.

Women's Wear Daily (WWD) includes fashion news, history, business insights, and more for women's fashion and the global fashion industry. Articles, videos, and images are added daily, offering trustworthy, up-to-date information for designers, marketers, retailers, and other industry professionals. For help using Women's Wear Daily, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

B Corps
From BCorp Labs, this database collects information on B-Corporations from around the world.

Library Catalog

Browsing for books and articles? Search Catalog+ to find a variety of resources all in one place:

Looking for a specific book title or author? Search the Classic Catalog below:

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Select your database by clicking on its name

For ID Number, use the 9-digit number located on the front of your SCAD ID card

You should now be logged in and able to search.

Ask A Librarian if you are having difficulties logging in.

Accessing Full Text

When using a database, look for PDF links.

In Catalog+, clicking the title of an article may take you directly to the article. If a catalog record appears instead, look for the green Article link. Click to access the article. There may be multiple options for access in different databases.

If no online options exist at SCAD, search the publication's title in journal title search to see if it is available in print.

No digital OR print options for your article? Not sure how to find a printed article on the shelf? Experiencing technical issues/broken links? Ask A Librarian!