Find Articles

What is a Database?

Article databases are useful for finding peer-reviewed, scholarly articles from a wide variety of journals for your research paper.

You can start with Catalog Plus, which searches most of the library's databases in one location. Searching within a subject-specific database, as listed below, can give you more refined results more relevant to your discipline/area of study, though.

Recommended Periodicals

Use these databases to find scholarly articles on graphic design.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
ProQuest index of scholarly and professional articles from design and craft publications.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) indexes journal articles, exhibition reviews, and news items from 1973 to the present. Topics covered by DAAI include product, retail, industrial, package, book, textile, furniture, jewelry, fashion, graphic and interior design as well as ceramics, illustration, typography, architecture, advertising, animation, and much more. For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Art and Architecture Source
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Nexis Uni
Database of newspaper articles, magazine articles, legal documents, and company financial information from around the world.
Nexus Uni provides both historical and current news from publications around the world. U.S. government, legal, and financial documents are also available through Nexus Uni. The platform can be searched in a variety of ways, including by keyword, publication, and time period. For help using Nexus Uni, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Communication Source
EBSCO database offering abstracts, indexing, and full-text articles from communication studies publications around the world.
Communication Source is the most complete full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines, and other sources covering communications-related disciplines such as media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse. The database includes 150 full-text titles not found in other EBSCO academic databases. Back file coverage includes top communication titles from the twentieth century. In addition to journal articles the database features a subject-specific thesaurus. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Select your database by clicking on its name

For ID Number, use the 9-digit number located on the front of your SCAD ID card

You should now be logged in and able to search.

Ask A Librarian if you are having difficulties logging in.

GRDS 205 - Typography

Search Now

Search Strategies

Ask A Librarian

What is a Database?

Recommended Periodicals

Find Articles

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!