Research Guides: ILLU 450, 460, and 480: Career Resources

Find Career Resources at SCAD Libraries

via Adobe Stock

D&B Hoovers

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Global business database containing company profiles; current news; industry analysis; financial and technology reports; and market and consumer reports.
D&B Hoovers leverages 120 million business records to provide real time predictive indicators, news alerts, industry analysis, and extensive market research reports. D&B Hoovers covers over 129 million companies from more than 190 countries. For help using D&B Hoovers, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Winmo

Winmo This link opens in a new window
Database focused on sales intelligence and prospecting in various advertising and creative markets.
Winmo contains contact information, advertising budgets, market performance, and sales predictions for thousands of companies and brands. Also included are creative ads and case studies from around the world.

Data Axle

Data Axle This link opens in a new window
Business directory containing detailed company and financial information for U.S. and global businesses as well as job postings.
Data Axle, formerly Reference USA, consists of two databases covering business information and career resources. U.S. Businessess provides financial information and contacts for millions of businesses operating in the United States. U.S. Jobs lists current job and internship postings as well as career tools, including resume writing tips, cover letter examples, interview tips, salary estimates, and more.

Business Source Premier: Companies

Want to learn more about a company and their products?

Select "Browse: Company Profiles" on the Business Source Premier home page. Clicking on a company will give you articles about them as well as a Market Line Report, detailing the company's products, services, and other key information.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, and case studies as well as company, industry, market, and country reports.
Business Source Premier provides full-text articles back to 1886 for more than 2,000 journals, including full text for more than 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The database includes resources from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing and more. The database also includes other information sources such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group, and CountryWatch as well as detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and Associate Press (AP) video content. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Mastheads

Finding publication mastheads from home can be difficult! These tips will help you identify magazine and newspaper contacts for your next editorial illustration pitch:

1. Does the publication have a website? Check the menu or footer of the website for a link to their masthead.

2. Do SCAD Libraries have the publication? Find periodicals by title in the search bars below. If it's only available in print, you can visit the library or request a scan of the masthead.

3. Do you have a local library card? Explore your public library's online collections. Many will have online magazine access through services like Hoopla, RB Digital, or Flipster.

4. Not finding the masthead you're looking for? Search a SCAD library database like Data Axle or Winmo for the publication.

5. Still not finding the masthead you're looking for? Ask a Librarian!

Locate Periodicals By Title

Search below for journals, magazines and newspapers by title (e.g., Design Issues, Artforum, New York Times).

Search for printed periodicals

Working From Off-Campus

You can use SCAD databases from any computer!

Select your database by clicking on its name

For ID Number, use the 9-digit number located on the front of your SCAD ID card

You should now be logged in and able to search.

Ask A Librarian if you are having difficulties logging in.