Skip to main content

Special Collections at the Jen Library, SCAD-Savannah: Home

Contact Special Collections

Location
We are located on the 3rd floor of Jen Library in room 304.

Hours
Monday-Friday 8am -5:00pm
Breaks: Monday-Friday 8:30am -5:00pm

Students:

If you would like to schedule an individual appointment to view collection materials for inspiration or research email Special Collections.

specialcollections@scad.edu 

Faculty:

Faculty are encouraged to request instruction sessions at least two weeks in advance, in order to maximize staff planning, and space availability. To schedule a special collections instruction session, please complete the online instruction request form.

SCAD Clubs and Organizations:

If your club or organization would like to visit Special Collections as a club field trip, contact us.

 

 

 

 

Special Collections Unique Materials

Photo: Bible. N.T. Gospels. Latin. Book of Kells. Chi Rho page, Full-color facsimile of the 8th century Latin manuscript. Call Number: ND3359 .K4 .B65 1990 folio (Original MS 58, located at the Library of Trinity College, Dublin Ireland).

About Special Collections?

The Archives and Special Collections Department at SCAD maintains non-circulating collections of unique and significant original works in relevant areas of study housed in the Jen Library. Special Collections supports a wide range of research and teaching in the fine and applied arts. While the items acquired may vary greatly in format and topical interest, all materials in the collection are considered to have notable value to SCAD programs. The purpose of the Archives and Special Collections Department is to preserve these materials within a secure environment where their availability to the SCAD community and to the general public can be ensured for current and future generations.

Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources

Primary Sources

Are firsthand accounts of an event or occurrence, documented by the creator, author or witnesses. Primary sources vary widely in format but are mainly characterized as original materials such as: archives, manuscripts, artifacts, Ephemera, objects, diaries, photographs, newspaper reports, research datapamphlets, oral histories, and books (memoirs and autobiographies). 

Secondary Sources

Describe, interpret or analyze information obtained from other sources (often primary sources).

Tertiary Sources

Compile and summarize secondary resources. Examples include Bibliographies and Encyclopedias. 

Evaluating Primary Resources

Primary sources are invaluable tools for understanding how and why events took place. When analyzing primary sources here are a few questions to ask.

Who created the source and why? For whom was the source created?

What information does the source supply? Under what circumstances was the source created? How would this influence the content of the source? Was the source meant to be public or private? What did the creator hope to accomplish by writing the source?