Don Bluth and Gary Goldman at Fox Animation
Color photocopy of a cel setup, Anastasia
The Don Bluth Collection of Animation came to the Savannah College of Art and Design as a donation from Don Bluth and Gary Goldman in fall of 2005. The collection consists of cels, animation drawings, storyboards, color models, and other materials created by Don Bluth Productions and later incarnations of this company in the creation of animated features and video games between 1979 and 2000. Also included in the collection are administrative, legal, and other documents, as well as scripts, concepts, and publicity related materials. The studio operated in both the United States and Ireland, and was, at various times, affiliated with other production companies. A preliminary inventory was completed by summer of 2006 and processing began in fall of that same year. Though the processing of the collection will continue for many years, materials already processed are available to researchers now.
As materials are processed, finding aids containing inventory lists are created as guides to access specific collection materials. Finding aids and or catalog records are available for highlighted materials below. For inquiries pertaining to inventory for all other collection materials email Special Collections at specialcollections@scad.edu
Series 1 Productions
Series 2 Concept Art
Series 3 Scripts
Series 4 Musical Scores
Series 5 Photographic Materials
Series 6 Merchandise and Publicity
Series 7 Awards
Series 8 Audio and Visual Materials
Series 9 Producers Files
Series 10 Administrative Papers
Series 11 Periodicals