Research Guides: Jen Library Archives and Special Collections: Comics, Minicomics, and Zines

Comics, Mini Comic, and Zine Collections

Sarah Morean Mini-Comics Collection
Call Number: MS 044
This collection dates from 1988 to 2012, with the bulk between 2005-2010. It consists of comic books, mini-comics, zines, anthologies, posters, prints, and correspondence. Many of these works were independently published, handmade, or self-published. There are standalone works alongside serial publications. The collection contains publicity, newspaper clippings containing comics, and posters of events. Also included is correspondence between Sarah Morean and contributors to the collection.
David Duncan Mini-Comics Collection
Call Number: MS 045
Mini-comics created by SCAD students since 2006.

Coming soon:

Bedside Press Collection of Mini-Comics, MS 054
Jeffrey Brewster Collection of Sequential Art, MS 055

Single Issue Comic Book Collections

We are constantly working to add the thousands of single issues found in the Sequential Art Collections to the library catalog so that you can see what titles are available for your research or reading pleasure. Here are a few examples:

Action Comics, 157 issues (1983-2009)

Batman, 179 issues (1968-2008)

Detective Comics, 160 issues (1986-2009)

Fantastic Four, 326 issues (1965-1998)

The Flash, 136 issues (1987-2007)

John Constantine: Hellblazer, 80 issues (1988-1998)

X-Factor, 61 issues (1986-1998)

For further information on available titles, please contact Special Collections.

IDW Artist Editions

"AN ARTIST’S EDITION PRESENTS COMPLETE STORIES WITH EACH PAGE SCANNED FROM THE ACTUAL ORIGINAL ART."
While appearing to be in black and white, each page was scanned in color to mimic as closely as possible the experience of viewing the actual original art—for instance, corrections and blue pencils. Each page is printed the same size as drawn, and the paper selected is as close as possible to the original art board.