Fibers

The weaving handbook : the art and craft : theories, materials, techniques, and projects by Asa Parson; Amica Sundstrom A practical and down-to-earth handbook for all skill levels. Designer and weaving expert Åsa Pärson and professional textile curator Amica Sundström have come together to create the modern reference book that weavers worldwide have always longed for--both inspiration and essential guidebook, for the novice and the experienced weaver alike, filled with engaging sample projects, in-depth discussions of techniques and materials, review of cloth textures and types, and explanations of weaving methods and levels of quality. Try out sample projects ranging from the elegantly simple to the increasingly complex, covering a wide range of weaving techniques Understand the principles behind the arrangement and preparation of the loom Learn about weaving tools of all shapes and sizes, and how to use them Discover the differences between various fibers and fabric types, and their looks, feels, and visual effects And so much more!

Knitwear Design by Carol Brown A practical guide to the dynamic revival of contemporary knitting, Knitwear Design is also a source of inspiration and advice on the latest techniques and practices. Packed with diagrams, knitwear samples and images from a wide range of contemporary designers, the book offers a practical approach to designing garments from initial research, finding sources of inspiration and developing the design, through an exploration of color, texture, and knitting techniques to constructing a garment and creating and writing a pattern. Knitwear Design also showcases the techniques that are transforming knitted textiles, such as heat treatments and painting and printing knit, and profiles the fusing of knitting, art, and craft. The book includes case studies from international designers, offering students a unique insight into the industry. Knitting is a tactile and versatile craft and Knitwear Design gives readers the knowledge and inspiration they need to create innovative and eyecatching fashion.

Reader's Digest Complete Guide to Sewing by Editors of Editors of Reader's Digest This is the ultimate stitch-and-seam reference book that brings you everything you need to know to sew your own distinctive creations, whether you are a beginner or an accomplished sewer. The ultimate stitch-and-seam reference book for both beginners and seasoned sewers includes thousands of illustrations and diagrams for each stage of the sewing process. In this updated edition, sewers will find: 20 new modern projects from Simplicity® patterns; includes updated photographs Instructions for making smart trousers, traditional curtains, a light summer dress, kids' clothes, a beach towel, patchwork bag, and more Tips on how to select the right equipment, choose the perfect fabric, and use the right technique for every project Foolproof ways to discover the perfect pattern size and how to incorporate only the most flattering design details  

The Art of Embroidery by Françoise Tellier-Loumagne (Photographer); Sheila Paine (Translator) Hot on the heels of and in the same format as Françoise Tellier-Loumagne's The Art of Knitting comes this inventive and creative overview of the compositional principles of embroidery that, with the aid of more than 500 photographs, encourages readers to be inspired by nature. It is sure to appeal to all practising embroiderers, textile designers and students, and will be an invaluable sourcebook for anyone working with or interested in textile design.

The Art and Craft of Natural Dyeing by J. N. Liles

Color by Design: paint and print with dye by Ann Johnston Fast, Simple, and Exciting... Color by Design: Paint and Print with Dye shows you how to dye cottons and silks in an incredible range of colors and patterns¿without changing the feel of your fabric. Using every tool imaginable¿from brushes, sponges, stamps, and blocks to rollers, sprays, silk screens, and more¿you will discover an endless array of techniques. Right away you will be able to create your own distinctive marks and colors, and with practice, you will create intricate designs with confidence and spontaneity. Color by Design offers: ¿ 48 exercises with crystal-clear directions, step by step ¿ Recipes that can be prepared ahead and instructions to store them ¿ more than 150 color photos of sensational fabrics, with how-to-captions ¿ Information and options for more experienced dyers ¿ Special chapters on water-soluble resists and on dyeing blacks. Ann¿s books, Color by Accident and Color by Design are all the information a dyer needs, classics in their field, user-friendly and well designed.

Mastering the Art of Fabric Printing and Design by Laurie Wisburn This authoritative guide outlines everything readers need to know to create gorgeous fabrics. There's nothing like it on the market! Collected within are step-by-step tutorials for designing patterns (both digitally and by hand), a comprehensive section on printing techniques--including digital printing, screen printing, stenciling, block printing, and resist dyeing--and even insider tips for developing a collection and bringing it to the marketplace. Beautifully illustrated with swatches of exquisite fabrics and hundreds of photos, and featuring interviews with established designers such as Skinny laMinx, Ink & Spindle, and Julia Rothman, Mastering the Art of Fabric Printing and Design is a key resource for anyone looking to learn the basics, expand their skill set, or find design inspiration.

Patterns by Peter Koepke An insider's guide to the world's largest archive of patterns and textiles, the source of inspiration for the globe's top designers Every season, designers from fashion, home furnishings, textiles, graphic arts, and paper-product industries seek inspiration from patterns to bring their collections to life. Many of these designers - including Beacon Hill, Boden, Calvin Klein, Clinique, Colefax & Fowler, Lululemon, Nike, Oscar de la Renta, Pottery Barn, and Target - look to the Design Library, the world's largest archive of surface design. This one-of-a-kind book, drawn from the Design Library's archive, is an exclusive and ultimate sourcebook of pattern and ornament. The book features case studies from major fashion and lifestyle brands - Beacon Hill, Boden, Calvin Klein, Clinique, Colefax & Fowler, Lululemon, Nike, Oscar de la Renta, Pottery Barn, Target, and Uniqlo - each presenting a unique design inspired by a pattern from the Design Library collection

The Pattern Sourcebook by Drusilla Cole This stunning picture book chronicles one hundred years of classic patterns, featuring designs in a wide variety of styles, art movements, and countries of origin to give an overview of surface design from the beginning of the last century to the present day. The book is full of original patterns from textiles, wallpaper, furniture, and ceramics and other decorative designs, drawn from a wide range of sources, including the rarely seen archives of leading manufacturers and private collections. Images are arranged by color, and retro and contemporary images come together so that exciting and unexpected juxtapositions occur. Featuring stunning patterns from celebrated artists, such as Henry Moore and Eduardo Paolozzi, to contemporary practitioners, such as Eley Kishimoto and Rob Ryan, this rich visual history of patterns will be a source of inspiration to designers everywhere.