Select "Advanced Search" on the Business Source Premier home page and expand the filters and use the "Publication Type" drop down menu and select "Company Profile" to look for articles and reports, such as a Marketline Report, which details the company's products, services, and other key information.
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, and case studies as well as company, industry, market, and country reports.
Trend forecasting platform that provides industry and trade show reports as well as trends, forecasting, consumer profiles, and market intelligence across the following sector channels: Fashion, Beauty, Interiors, Consumer Tech, and City by City.
Going Global: the textile and apparel industy
by
Going Global: The Textile and Apparel Industry, 2nd Edition, examines the global sourcing of textiles and apparel in the context of corporate responsibility for the sustainability of supply chains. Tackling complex political, economic, and labor issues, the text explores how, what, when, where, and under what circumstances merchandise is developed, produced, acquired, and consumed on a global basis.
JJ Pizzuto's Fabric Science 10th Edition
by
With an increased emphasis on textiles as a major global industry, the tenth edition of this best-selling book continues to meet the needs of both students and professionals in the textile, fashion, and related industries. Based on their combined experience in both education and the industry, Cohen and Johnson provide readers with a comprehensive text about the design, structure, and application of textiles. The range of information is exceptionally broad, and includes basic fiber makeup, fiber innovation, the formation of fabrics, quality issues, and laws that regulate textiles; updated topics include environmental responsibility, nanotechnology and innovations in industrial textiles. The authors also provide readers with information regarding textile-related trade and professional associations and career opportunities in design, production, marketing, merchandising, apparel and home products.
The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory
by
This valuable materials directory for professional dressmakers and fashion designers is also a good reference source for students of fashion design, as well as for those who make their own garments. The author points out the best fabrics for creating specific garments, explaining how each fabric's qualities make it suitable for various items of apparel. Knowing which fabrics can support a structured silhouette is fundamental to fashion design, and this book explains the use of stiff or crisply textured fabrics for tailored garments, as well as soft textured fabrics for rounded forms. Ornamentation is also discussed, and includes advice on how to work with different fabrics to create what author Gail Baugh classifies as opulent, simple, and in-between decorative effects. The book's additional features include: Fiber characteristics charts Weave charts and knit charts with fabric names and photos A glossary of terms and definitions Lists of textile suppliers, online stores, and study resources This directory of textiles and their uses is profusely illustrated with more than 500 color photos.
The Object of Labor
by
Essays and artists' projects explore the ubiquity of cloth in everyday life and the effect of globalization on art and labor; with more than 100 color images.The Object of Labor explores the personal, political, social, and economic meaning of work in the context of art and textile production. The ubiquity of cloth in everyday life, the historically resonant relationship of textile and cloth to labor, and the tumultuous drive of globalization make the issues raised by this pubication of special interest today. The seventeen essays cover topics ranging from art-making practices to labor history and the effects of globalization as seen through art and labor. The artists' projects-twelve striking and beautiful eight-page, full color spreads-conduct parallel investigations into art, cloth, and work.The contributors explore, from historical and personal perspectives, such subjects as the charged history of offshore garment workers; the different systems of production and consumption in factories, homes, studios, and exhibitions; the revelation of class, gender, and sexuality through cloth, costume, and textile images; textile production as commemorative acts in South Africa, the United States, and India; transnationalism, cultural hybridity, and race in the work of individual artists; lost histories of garment production and embroidery; the physical act of art-making as labor; and the value of handmade and "technologically improved" objects. Artist projects and portfolios Susie Brandt, Nick Cave, Park Chambers, Lisa Clark, Lia Cook, Ann Hamilton, Kimsooja, Barbara Layne and Sue Rowley, Lara Lepionka, Merrill Mason, Darrel Morris, Pep n Osorio, J. Morgan Puett and Iain Kerr, Karen Reimer, Yinka Shonibare, SubRosa, Christine Tarkowski, Anne Wilson
Apparel Production Management and the Technical Package
by
In today's global apparel industry, garments that are designed domestically are often manufactured overseas. The technical package, a series of forms that define a garment's specifications, is critical to ensuring that a particular style is executed correctly and in the most cost- and time-efficient manner possible. Apparel Production Management and the Technical Package presents the basics of production management and provides clear instructions for creating each component of a production package.