Research Guides: SCADnow Resources &amp; Services: Digital Resources

Research Databases

Databases are specialized websites containing online articles (from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals).

Full Text databases contain PDF or HTML versions of full articles.

Articles and Images may be found via a number of electronic resource subscriptions, go to the library homepage and search through Catalog+ or browse Databases by title.

Browse databases by subject or type with the dropdown menus.
Click the name of the database and login to begin searching. You may need to log in or use a private/incognito browser to get started.
For a specific research topic, you can also check Research Guides for suggested databases.

General Research Databases

Full text databases contain PDF or HTML versions of full articles. The following are great choices for general research:

Academic Search Premier
EBSCO database containing full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers from a wide variety of disciplines, including physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, and much more.
Academic Search Premier contains over 4,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers. This multidisciplinary research database covers a variety of disciplines, including engineering, physics, psychology, religion, philosophy, science and technology, education, humanities, civics, and history as well as the physical sciences. This database provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, videos from the Associated Press, and primary source documents pertaining to government and law. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Art and Architecture Source
EBSCO database containing images in addition to full-text journals and books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architectural history and design from around the world.
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative, and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design. The database contains over 63,000 images dating back to 1914 and hundreds of full-text journals and books in various languages, including French and German. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
JSTOR
Database containing full-text articles from scholarly journals and images from institutions around the world covering a variety of subjects.
JSTOR includes digitized articles from back issues of academic journals as well as book chapters, ebooks, abstracts, and primary sources from the humanities and social sciences. For help using JSTOR, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
Nexis Uni
Database of newspaper articles, magazine articles, legal documents, and company financial information from around the world.
Nexus Uni provides both historical and current news from publications around the world. U.S. government, legal, and financial documents are also available through Nexus Uni. The platform can be searched in a variety of ways, including by keyword, publication, and time period. For help using Nexus Uni, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Covers the fields of art, education, social sciences, humanities, science and business.
For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

e-Book Collections

Ebook collections are accessible from the main search box at library.scad.edu. Use the filters and narrow by "full text online" and "book/ebook" to retrieve only ebook results.

eBook Collection (via EBSCOhost)
Ebook collection covering a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, history, science, literature, and more.
EBSCO's multidisciplinary eBook Collection includes thousands of ebooks covering a large selection of academic subjects from leading publishers. For help using EBSCO databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.
O'Reilly Ebooks
Ebook and video library covering a wide range of technology topics including digital media, software, programming, web applications, business, and professional development.
For help using ProQuest databases, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

Digital Image & Video Databases

From the database list: Click Types menu, then select Images or Video

Digital Image Database
Image database maintained by the SCAD Visual Resources Center. DID contains a custom array of digitized images for the SCAD community.
The Digital Image Database (DID) contains images from prehistory through the twenty-first century in a wide range of topic categories covering all majors at SCAD. Searches can also be conducted by location, material, media, artistic movements, or artist name. In addition to published work, DID also contains student and faculty work. For help with the SCAD Digital Images Database, search SCAD Libraries' FAQ, or use the chat feature to contact library staff.

SCAD Digital Collections
Search the SCAD Thesis Collection, Artist Book collections, Don Bluth Collection
and other SCAD Libraries digital collections
SCAD Virtual Lecture Hall
SCAD Educational Technology provides the SCAD community with live-streaming and on-demand video for educational use in and outside the classroom.